We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb all round - thoroughly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Crowns Chagford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Three Crowns Chagford to your Saves list
Three Crowns Chagford
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ138AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Superb all round - thoroughly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I can't think of a single even slightly bad thing to say about this pub and hotel. We stayed for three nights for my husband's birthday and everything about our stay was outstanding. We arrived to find a parking space reserved for us, and got a warm welcome at reception.

We stayed in the suite and it was great value (we booked well in advance online and got a really good discount offer) and it was gorgeous. Huge bed, well furnished, spacious. Separate to the bedroom was a little cosy lounge positioned above the entrance to the pub which was a nice area to sit and read and meant a bit more space. When we arrived there were fresh pastries in our room which was a lovely touch. The room comes with tea and coffee facilities and biscuits too. You can get room service from the restaurant downstairs as well. There was a big spotless bathroom and plenty of nice toiletries and fluffy white robes too.

Breakfast was great - you order from the hot menu and help yourself from the cold buffet selection. There is lots of choice and the cooked breakfasts were superb; they try to source their food locally. We ate in the restaurant twice and both meals were excellent. So was the mulled wine we enjoyed before dinner!

The place is organised so there is a nice pub part at the front downstairs, with the restaurant (also the breakfast room) at the back in a well lit atrium extension. The rooms are upstairs. Reception is in between the pub and restaurant and isn't staffed full time given the size of the place, but every time we went down someone was always quick to come from the bar or restaurant. There is also free wifi, helpful as phone signal is pretty limited in the area.

Chagford itself is a lovely little village although we didn't explore too much as we were using it as a base for walking. The hotel is old and has an attractive frontage too with the car park at the back. Overall, we would recommend this place to anyone and definitely would go back on our next trip to Devon.

Room Tip: The Godolphin suite is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    58
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
196
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The stay was just perfect. Meal in front of log fire, well appointed room and good breakfast- (husband especially appreciated the fried bread!) The staff were particularly helpful especially Amanda at reception.Good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just got back from a very relaxing two night break here and absolutely loved it!
* room was modern yet very country/vintage feel with a beautiful bathroom, toiletries, slippers and robes
* food was excellent on both evenings gorgeous steak, mussels etc I could have eaten here for a week!
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order plus plenty of cereals, fruits and pastries etc. The quality of the food was beautiful all locally sourced
* customer service was great very friendly and helpful- when we asked about local walks we were given about 5 books to keep for the length of our stay and they were very useful!
Overall this place was just lovely and I would definitely return such a hidden gem!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great sized rooms & bathrooms, Food is fresh and well prepared but it is the excellent manager & his friendly helpful staff that set this apart. It is ideally located for some beautiful long walks along the river. Only one request, a fire or log burner in the second bar area, the lighting is too bright,and it needs to be a little more cosy. Lovely stay, we will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from two nights getaway after Christmas/New Year. Everything was perfect - room was immaculate, generous size bathroom and good towels, smellies, selection of teas etc. All very nice quality and comfortable. Dinner was excellent on both nights and the staff were all friendly and efficient. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I came to the Three Crowns with family from the UK for New Years 2014. Staff was very accommodating and exceptionally friendly. So friendly in fact that we enjoyed buying them drinks at the Ring O Bells later in the evening. We also did not mind listening to Sidney's ghost stomping up and down the hallway, opening and closing doors all the while!

Room Tip: Choose room 18 - it's outside this from that Sidney is supposed to be heard. Quite entertaining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Three Crowns December 30 and 31 for a new year break with family visiting from Canada. The bedrooms were spacious, well-equipped and clean, the food in the restaurant both nights was excellent, and the hotel genuinely felt like a cosy home away from home. But what really sets the hotel apart from others is the young staff - they manage to be friendly, easy-going and fun to be around, while still maintaining a very high standard of service and professionalism. We went to the next door Ring o'Bells inn to welcome in the new year which gave us an opportunity to meet the locals who couldn't have been friendlier (great atmosphere).
Chagford's location is of course perfect forr exploring Dartmoor.
We wholeheartedly recommend the Three Crowns in Chagford and will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Crowns Chagford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Crowns Chagford

Address: High Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ138AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Three Crowns Chagford 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Crowns sits in the heart of the pretty and vibrant stannary town of Chagford in Devon. Following a magical renovation this beautiful thatched coaching Inn is warmly elegant with stone walls, Inglenook fireplaces and beamed ceilings. Noted for its impressive granite façade, The Three Crowns dates back to the 13th century and was a manor house before becoming an inn. In an idyllic spot on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, scenic walks are all around, from gentle strolls to serious hikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Three Crowns Chagford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Crowns Chagford Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Crowns Chagford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.