We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 22 Mill Street

22 Mill Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
22 Mill Street
Save
You added 22 Mill Street to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 Mill Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Chagford B&B and Inns
hereford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had been here before a year ago for lunch and there was no one else in the restaurant and thought the food good but incredibly overpriced. Went in June of this year and again, the only ones there. Had bought a half price taster menu deal online and although the food was of an excellent standard we would have felt somewhat miffed if we had paid full price for it. Compared to the value you get in London I can see why this is not a popular lunch venue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Tawton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sunday lunch - the waiter, who had obviously been thrown in at the deep end from another establishment, was charming and did his utmost. We were disappointed that it was not the usual chef and also that we were only able to have the set menu and were told the main menu was not available although the other table had the tasting menu! If there was a problem then we should have been contacted and the situation made clear to us. The food was very nice but not outstanding and I was disappointed that the venison, which I was told would be served rare as I like it, was medium to well done. The wine was very good. We were a party of 8 and one starter was served considerably later than the rest of the party. The portions were also quite meagre. I feel that we should have been told when we booked that the chef would not be there as it was because of him that we booked the table. Had we known we would have booked at another time. The place itself is wonderful and had a nice atmosphere and we would go again (we live locally) but ensure that the chef was there and also that all the menu options were available to us.

Room Tip: We only ate there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had read the reviews of this restaurant with rooms and thought it sounded a place we would love - and love it we did. If you want exceedingly fine food, wonderful flavours, beautiful presentation - all with some prior consultation as to preferences - then to Chagford you must go to be delighted by Ashley's culinary flair. Karla's front of house warmth, charm and friendliness only increased our enjoyment of our stay at 22 Mill Street and the combination of the two of them as hosts for our stay means we can't wait to go back. We found it a truly relaxing place to stay. It is a wonderful restaurant with lovely rooms and is delightful as it is so please accept it does not offer all the trappings of a 5* luxury hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Keep an eye on Ashley, this is a chef who is going places. He's too good to go unrecognised for long. We stayed two nights and on the second night went for the taster menus. Superb. Ashley prepared a special fish and veg one for my wife. Both menus avoided the dishes we had the previous night. So it was all new dishes. I had a lovely steak tartare. Karla and Ashley are great hosts. And even the breakfasts are good and different to the usual B&B. I don't like muesli, but I like Ashley's.

Room Tip: The moors room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very friendly. Our room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, great homemade muesli! Be aware that conversation from the reataurant can be disturbing and the toilets for the restaurant are upstairs aswell.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We arrived earlier than check in time and were welcomed by Ashley and Karla. Having our room early was no problem. We were off to a 2pm wedding, so Ashley made us sandwiches to keep us going. Our room was comfortable (particularly lovely duvet). When we came back at 11.30pm we were again welcomed by Ashley and Karla who were still up and happy to chat about our day. We were looking forward to our breakfast as we had heard about Ashley's cooking before we arrived. We were not disappointed! All in all a really good find and we would be very happy to come back to Chagford and 22 Mill Street again. Thank you Ashley & Karla for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The room was nicely decorated and a good size. The staff were friendly and attentive and helped us to celebrate my recent proposal to my wife to be with a glass of bubbly. My only criticism was that the conversation from the staff was often about the amount of hours they worked and the stress that this caused, and too much graphic detail about the business. It's nice to just get away sometimes, away from the stress of everyday life, especially when you deal with people's crisis's on a daily basis at work. In the morning, staff could be clearly heard talking about their disagreements with others with some heated words.
Overall though, the service was friendly and the food was excellent and I wish them all the success in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 22 Mill Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Mill Street

Address: 22 Mill Street, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — 22 Mill Street 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
22 Mill Street Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 22 Mill Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.