We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly welcoming local with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Park Inn

Sandy Park Inn
Sandy Park | Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
01647 433267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Chagford
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm friendly welcoming local with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Open fire on a cool August night, fantastic home made pizza and fine fish and chips. What more can you wish for - other than perfectly kept selection of local ales to be drunk with friendly locals. Thanks guys and see you again!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok if you like dogs..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A really nice pub, obviously favoured by the locals. The place was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We ate in the bar and the food was quite nice, portions a reasonable size and the choice again was good.

I am a dog lover but at one stage it was 'busy' with dogs, one lady had a large alsation type dog in there and a guy arrived with two morelarge (ish) dogs which for a small bar was two too many.

Well behaved dogs but when you are eating your dinner it can be a bit much.

I would visit again but if the dogs were there I wouldn't eat. Perhaps we just picked the wrong evening.

I would recommend a visit as it's a 'real' pub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A nice meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We came here after spending ages finding the union inn which looked great in trip advisor but more of a cupboard in real life. So as we passed this pub on the way, we turned around and popped in. Parking was a bit hairy.

The pub is nice, clean and traditional with a modern twist due to young landlords. We sat in the restaurant because the bar was full. It was slightly too quiet which made it lack a bit of atmosphere. The food was filling, good quality and tasted nice although I'd say the starter and main were both over priced by a couple of pounds each. A good meal and the landlord was very pleasant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdown Forest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The food was of a very high standard; we stopped here after staying at a well known hotel in Cornwall, where the kitchen is run by a Master Chef, and I have to say that what we ate in the Sandy Park Inn that night was nearly as good!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

we were staying at the mill end hotel which is about a 2 min walk from here, and fancied something less formal than their restaurant. very nice food, met the chef who was a really nice guy and keen on using local produce. excellent steak and fish. liked it so much we went back the next evening

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Park Inn also viewed

Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Sandy Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.