We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mill End Hotel to your Saves list
Mill End Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Delightful setting with great walks from the doorstep. Comfortable lounges and attractive garden to relax in. Friendly, unobtrusive staff. Excellent restaurant. Superb cream teas and breakfasts. Comfortable bed.

Room on the small side (but then we knew that when we booked) and an awkward shape. Shortage of power points and in an awkward place, but then it is an older country house hotel. Bathroom in need of a refresh. Doesn't really have what I call a bar and no real ale other than bottled, but Sandy Park Inn is only a short walk. WifFi unreliable.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our bedrooms come in all sorts of shapes and sizes (which we like to think is part of the hotel's character!). Please do give us a call when you are next planning a visit so that we can identify the room which best suits your needs.

I am sorry that you found our complimentary wi-fi unreliable. Our rural location does mean that our broadband line is not the best, and we are currently looking into alternative solutions to improve this. In the meantime, our sincere apologies.

Thank you once again for your kind comments, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mill End soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    49
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
31
166
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Fabulous hotel. Wonderful welcome from the owners and all the staff. Comfy bedroom with everything one could want. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this one is one of the best. We only had breakfast as we were at a wedding celebration nearby but the breakfast was excellent. Nothing was too much for the staff or owners. A family feeling but total privacy and comfort.

Room Tip: Just tell the owners what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
My sincere thanks for your kind comments. I know that the whole team here at Mill End will be delighted to read your feedback.
We were particularly honoured to note your comment that Mill End is one of the best hotels you've come across in your travels. We do aim to create a special experience for all our guests, and it is very heartening to read your comments in this regard.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mill End again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

By chance we were touring Dartmoor and came across this charming country hotel. Only a few miles from the A30 but set in lush green countryside.
We popped in for afternoon tea which was served in a very well appointed lounge. We were also offered the garden to sit in if we wished.
Talking to the friendly staff we asked if we could have a tour of the hotel. They gladly obliged and we were shown a selection of bedrooms (all of which were different to each other), the dining room alongside the revolving water wheel and even the 'boot' room.
The 'computer man' was also present during our visit installing wi-fi to the ground floor.
This hotel will definitely be on our list for our next visit to Devon. Soon I hope.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
On behalf of the team here at Mill End, our sincere thanks for you kind comments.
It was a pleasure welcoming you to Mill End, and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the Mill End Hotel. We were greeted by extremely friendly staff and our Black Labrador was made to feel very much at home too! Both dinner and breakfast were very enjoyable and the staff were keen to tell us that most of the produce was locally sourced. Our room was on the ground floor with a door opening on to the garden, which was brilliant for our dog. All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and definitely look forward to going to Mill End again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, our sincere thanks for your kind comments following your stay. I am delighted to hear that you (and your canine companion!) enjoyed your time with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mill End again soon.

Kind regards,
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Mill End Hotel to attend a weding which took place in Dartmoor,
We booked this hotel rather than a bed and breakfast because we wanted hotel facilities, albeit at a higher cost than even the highest rated bed and breakfast.
The hotel greeting was friendly and the public rooms were very comfortable with open fires, which were, unfortunately needed although it was the middle of June.
The bedroom was good, with a picture window overlooking the extensive gardens. It was not large but had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on.
The room was let down by the bathroom which is badly in need of a major uplift.
It was unfortunate that the weather was cold and it seemed the heating ahd been switched off and the room was not as warm as it should have been.
The hotel proudly boasted that it served home made biscuits for your morning or evening tea in the room and there was a very nice glass bisuit container with 4 such biscuits when we arrived.
We were staying for 3 nights but after the second night we had finsihed them and the empty container had disappeared. I went to reception to say that the biscuits had not been replaced but was told rather curtly that once you have eaten your allocation that was all you were getting. I must say I have never come across that before, and at £155 a night I think that was pretty mean.
Anyway we went into Chagford, a very pretty small town well worth visiting and bought some biscuit for the mnorning and while we were there had a very nice meal in a very friendly local pub, The Ring of Bells, rather than eating in the hotel restaurant.
Shame about such a petty item.
Not sure whether we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor Queen size bed double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, General Manager at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Mill End. You highlight the warmth of our welcome, which is something on which we particularly like to pride ourselves.
Also delighted that you thought the bed was the most comfortable you've slept on!
With regard to the bathroom, I'm sorry that you felt that it wasn't up to scratch. We have been working through a programme of upgrading and improving our bedrooms, and some of the bathrooms are now also due for updating - which we will be working on in the coming months.
You obviously enjoyed our home-made biscuits - they are, after all, quite delicious! Of course we should have provided you with extra when you asked, and I can only apologise that we missed this.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mill End.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown up to a lovely room, well furnished and with an inviting king size bed with lots of pillows and cushions, which proved to be really comfortable. The room was double aspect with a little balcony on one side (with a view of the waterwheel) and the added bonus of a close-up view of nesting House Martins from the other.

The unseasonal weather was disappointing but there was a lovely open fire in the guest's lounge (where we had a cream tea!). The staff were so helpful and friendly, doing everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.

We stayed two nights and on both evenings enjoyed a delicious dinner with a good choice of menu, sitting at a pretty candlelit table with flowers. The choice at breakfast was equally superb.

We had a fantastic stay,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, General Manager at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
From the whole team here at Mill End, many thanks for your kind comments about the hotel and our restaurant. We were glad that you liked your King Size room, and its view over our historic waterwheel. A shame that the weather wasn't better for your stay, but hopefully our log fire kept you nice and warm!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

The Mill End Hotel is a lovely, dog friendly, country house set on Dartmoor. The owners and their Rhodesian Ridgeback were welcoming and took excellent care of us during our stay.

The rooms are well equipped, comfortable and peaceful making for an excellent night’s sleep. The restaurant staff were helpful and knowledgeable and the food and wines were excellent!

The journey from London was easy (just over three hours), making it a perfect, relaxing, weekend away from the City! The full English breakfast alone makes the journey worthwhile! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MilEndHotel, General Manager at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Many thanks for your kind words about Mill End. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and to read your very positive comments regarding our restaurant and staff. And as you say, our "Full English" always makes a good start to the day!
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mill End Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.