We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country village stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ring O'Bells

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ring O'Bells to your Saves list
Ring O'Bells
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   44 The Square, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Chagford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely country village stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A very friendly charming country pub in Dartmoor National Park!!!! Very narrow roads on approach to the village. There is a lovely resident dog and the pub is dog friendly, as are most pubs in Cornwall and Devon. Food and room were nice and Chagford is a lovely little village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us. Chagford is a lovely place to stay, and i'm really glad you enjoyed it here. We do what we can to provide a comfortable nights rest with good food, to ensure your ready for enjoying the walks around the area. Hope you decide to come again.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This pub just hits every button, great local beer with friendly locals and barman to advise which to try, excellent simple but interesting lunch menu, with everything less than £10, lovely environment, clean loos and a pub garden. We stopped for lunch on the way to Cornwall. If I stayed in Chagford, I might consider staying at the more expensive hotel up the road, but this is the place I would eat, drink and chat to locals. Just what a pub should be and the best I have found in a long time.

Room Tip: Did not voew the rooms, but if they were anywhere near as good and as clean as the pub I would be ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much. It is lovely to have such good feedback. We work hard to ensure that excellent cleanliness and value are a priority - combine that with the best of local produce (food and ales), and you really get a sense of what we all about at the Ring O' Bells. It's the personal touches on a traditional English pub that we hope provides a warm friendly welcoming atmosphere for yourselves and locals alike.

I'm glad you took time to pop in on your journey to Cornwall, and hope you have the time to come again. And next time, if you fancy a quick look around the rooms upstairs i'll be happy to give you a guided tour.

Many Thanks
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Took our good friends away and hoped for a nice stay and we were not disappointed, the accommodation was really good and very helpful and friendly staff. Room very comfy and food great highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much. We hope to see you again.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

After a rocky start to our lunchtime at the Warren Inn, which we have reviewed independently, we arrived to a oasis of sanity at the Ring O'Bells in the charming town of Chagford. On entering we were greeted by the friendly chatter of locals out for relaxation and food. Ladies that lunch, the quiet readers with a coffee and the usual parliament of gentlemen putting the world to rights.
My husband ordered a Dartmoor ale and for me my usual soda, I avoid sugar and alcohol, my husband went to pay and we nearly fell of our stools in pleasant suprise ...... you'll have to vist to find out why !
From the menu we chose smoked salmon and side salad, and for myself from Lightbites a 4oz steak with chips,tomatoes and mushrooms. We both prefer tasty but not enormous portions. The meal was a delight and the steak did not need a steak knife it was so tender (medium rare), I reluctantly cut a piece of my steak for my husband to taste, the beautific look on his face spoke volumes. They do a larger steak meals for those with heartier appetites.
Next visit will be steak for us both, the meat is supplied locally and Fran directed us to the butchers, we plan to buy some supplies on future visits to the Ring O'Bells. We always prefer to buy from local suppliers and rarely use a supermarket for fresh produce, now we have a genuine alibi to visit this pub again in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed you meal. As you mentioned, we buy as locally as possible and the results are always excellent. We apply this to all aspects of the business, as we believe local is best. I hope you make it back soon, and we look forward to it.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We really love Chagford, its perfect and we love the Ring o'Bells, great beer, good selection of wine and really tasty value for money food, a great place to stay to tour this wonderful part of Devon, would definitely recommended, and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much. We hope to see you again soon.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We all enjoyed the very tender and tasty braised venison which we tight was very good values. Unlike many pubs,there was table service which was a bonus. Went on a Thursday and did not,have to book a table but could see would be busy at weekends.

My,review cited sleep quality did not stay there but clicked by mistake and cannot seem to delete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much. Our chef takes pride in providing the best quality local produce each and every day. We are really glad you enjoyed the venison off our specials menu.
Hope to see you again soon.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were walking the Dartmoor Way and stayed in The Ring of Bells on a Saturday night and were warmly welcomed by Fran the landlady and her dog Moss. I must say that this Inn is fantastic for a place to stay and also to eat. Chagford as a town is really charming, you can guess by my enthusiasm that we will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_ringobells, General Manager at Ring O'Bells, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you very much, we are always happy to hear such lovely comments not just about us, but also Chagford. It really is a gem in the heart of Dartmoor, and that's why we love it here. We look forward to your next visit.

Many Thanks

Maxwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ring O'Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring O'Bells

Address: 44 The Square, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ring O'Bells 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated, the accommodation at The Ring O’ Bells consists of four en-suite bedrooms which have all been designed and decorated to a great standard. All rooms are well appointed with flat-screen LCD televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, bathrobes and hairdryers. Retreat and relax at The Ring O’ Bells and enjoy the dramatic landscape of The Dartmoor National Park, a haven for walkers and cyclists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ring O'Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring O'Bells Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ring O'Bells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.