We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, welcoming home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbank

Greenbank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chagford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbank
Save
You added Greenbank to your Saves list
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Chagford B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb, welcoming home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Truely wonderful hosts of a unique, eclectic home. Superb breakfast. Whole stay thoroughly enjoyable. With Dogs, cats, parrot and numerous animals outside it made me feel relaxed and at home. I am definately coming back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After a blustery week in a campervan trundling around Devon, Greenbank was our final stop and what a way to end our holiday! It was a real treat- beds so comfy they were difficult to leave in the morning, breakfasts so tasty it made leaving the beds ok again, lovely welcoming hosts and the odd whippet/parrot who made our stay feel like we were in a home away from home!

Thank you both for creating such a great place for us to come and stay!

J & W

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here last year in August when we attended a wedding nearby. The room was very comfortable with a good shower. However the best thing about the place are the wonderful hosts and their genuinely warm welcome. They even gave as a lift to the wedding venue several miles away. We loved all the animals and the surrounding.It is a great place for lovers of the countryside and only an easy walk away from Chagford. Having badly overslept the day after the wedding we were still treated to an excellent breakfast after 11 am in the morning. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife an I just returned from a weekend in Dartmoor and felt we should write about just how good Greenbank is.

As most others have said it is large country house in a great location on a hillside overlooking Chagford. The room we stopped in is just how it looks in the picture, full of antique furniture and a big very comfy bed. Warm and cosy it could not have been better.

The shower was brilliant loads of hot water and enough space for four people (not that there was four of us!) with massive white bath towels to dry you afterwards.

Breakfast was great, the normal excellent English breakfast with the added entertainment of the listening to the parrot talking away.

If you are thinking of stopping in Dartmoor then look no further

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

After our great time in April it was wonderful to return to Greenbanks and receive more of the same: warmth, humor and happiness. Also our bed felt even more comfortable.

We paused in reviewing because we are genuinely worried that many others will discover this, Chagfords (& North Dartmoors) best accommodation, and therefore they will never have availability again :-) Please don't stay here unless your a good person.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I had a great stay at the Greenbank. The bed and breakfast is in a large country house with flower and vegetable gardens, and cool animals --guinea fowl, chickens and friendly pets (grey parrot and two dogs-whippets). The location is great. The house sits on a hill with great views of Dartmoor National Park. It is a ten minute walk into the town of Chagford which has a diary, butcher, bakery, several tea houses, pubs, and some cute stores with nice stationary, housewares, and outdoor clothes. Plus, there are a couple of public paths right near the house that lead to great hikes.
Our room was very large and had its own entrance. We loved the shower with rain head fixture and the large bath tub. The house had lots of special touches like an antique rocking horse, beautiful gardens and a swing on the back porch. Overall: tasty breakfasts,relaxing, comfortable and quiet!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

It is with some reluctance that we write about Greenbank B + B in Chagford, as having discovered this jewel of a place, we are loathe to share it with all and sundry, in case it is fully booked when we decide to run away, yet again, to our perfect sanctuary. Having stayed here five times now in the last year, we can honestly say, hand on heart.. this is the most welcoming, comfortable and friendliest of all the places we have ever stayed. Fru, Peter, family and wonderful menagerie have become the reason to return to Greenbank rather than just a place to lay one's head. Though the pillows are extremely comfy!

Room Tip: The Beijing room is our favourite with a fantastic en suite power shower room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank

Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Greenbank Chagford, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.