We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold day worm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Devon Railway

South Devon Railway
The Railway Station, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0DZ, England
+44 1364 642338
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Attraction details
Topsham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“cold day worm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

great piece of history.a day out for the family or a great western fan.we will be back soon.my 5 year old railway expert cant wait to see thomas the tank engine

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    89
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Top Branch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a splendid heritage line running along the beautiful river Dart between Buckfastleigh and Totnes.

I always enjoy a ride on the good old SDR and so do my family. No matter the weather, time of year, day of the week it is always a great experience and the Volunteers and staff are always welcoming and friendly.

Reasonably priced, easy parking and a well advertised running schedule. At Buckfastleigh station there is an excellent, roomy buffet and a well stocked model shop. At the Totnes end it is a great delight in summer to sit outside and watch the shunting over a cup of tea and a cake.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A gala weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited on a special day when an historic GWR Railmotor which has been restored from the early 1900s was visiting the line. Friendly welcome with many vistors and plenty of information. A beer festival too on Staverton station!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Can do better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Come on guys we use this on a regular basis and always take visitors on the railway as it is one of the best attractions in the area. But... this weekend was badly organised and under provided for. No information was provided for travelers and no information that the train would only go as far as Staverton with only two carriages. The train that pulled in was a "special" so we had to wait another hour. Both journeys we had to stand because there we not enough carriages, for 3 children under 7 this is unacceptable. If you are going to set up "specials" then please ensure you have enough carriages for the generalpublic service or do not try to run both. THis damages your reputation and reduces future visits. You are not a cheap attraction and unless you sort it out people will vote with their feet.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at South Devon Railway, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am very sorry that you, as a repeat customer, were disappointed by our offering on, I think, Saturday 16th February. The event had been advertised on all of our publicity material as being subject to a special timetable, copies of which were available on our websites. Additionally, as is our usual practice, each person buying tickets at the booking office was issued with a leaflet that included the time table. I can only apologise if you were not issued with such a leaflet as you should have been.
The concept of the weekend was to fulfil our charitable purpose, demonstrating branch line services of many years gone by, especially as we had the use of the unique Edwardian Steam Rail Motor, which has a very low capacity and requires a premium fare to make it viable. It takes up a "path" that could otherwise be used by a higher capacity service. Once it leaves the South Devon Railway after 24th February, it is unlikely to return again.
We suffered from being overwhelmed by the popularity of the "Branchline" concept , which has been generally well received with good attendances. Our passenger carrying capacity was further hampered on Saturday with the initial non availability of one of our locomotives, which meant that one service had to run with less than 50% of the intended capacity. The weekend's timetable had already had to be altered to provide further accommodation as one of the coaches which can be used to fulfil the branchline concept was unavailable, being withdrawn at short notice for remedial work.
I accept the shortcomings of the timetable that was in use, and whilst it will have to be in use 23rd and 24th February, we will be reviewing our ideas for future gala events to minimise or eliminate overcrowding at busy time of the day.
We hope to see you again at our next special day on 16th and 17th March when everyone may travel the length of the line all day at half price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a lovely place to vist, the train ride takes you through wonder countryside and is great fun for all ages, young or old will just love it - if you have never done this, make a date to do it soon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Devon Railway also viewed

 
Manaton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to South Devon Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Devon Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.