We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary
Dart Bridge Road, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0DZ, England
+44 (0)1364 642916
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a small, friendly and very different visit for all the family. Run by a small dedicated team we aim to make your visit educational and fun. You can enjoy and learn about our tropical butterflies in the specially designed habitat of which you become part. You not only see the butterflies but feel the rainforest atmosphere that they enjoy as you see their amazing life cycle unfold.In the Otter Sanctuary there are three species of otter to see, our native British otter, the playful Asian short clawed otters and the large North American river otters who love to show off. Our keeper is on hand to explain all about the otters to visitors, some are here for breeding, some for retirement, some just for fun and some because they are unsuitable to be returned to the wild.Make sure to bring your camera.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The otters were amazing with an insightful talk from Tim, a really worthwhile visit, thanks for a great day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    112
    24
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent trip out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We found this place by chance, while we were travelling down to our holiday in St Ives. We just wanted a stop-off to stretch our legs and ease the boredom of the journey, and we ended up staying at the otter and butterfly sanctuary for hours. The keeper was friendly, knowledgeable, and passionate about the otters which made his talk very interesting. The butterflies were mesmerising and we particularly loved being able to watch them emerge from their chrysaliss'.
Definitely worth going to.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
1 review
“Really enjoyable afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Have just come back from a relaxing yet interesting afternoon. We saw many butterflies, some of which wanted to rest on me! Fascinating watching the emerging butterflies from their chrysalis.

Our timing could not have been better as we also watched Tim feed the otters. His passion for the caring for these wonderful creatures is plain to see and his commentary during the feeding time was very interesting.

I would recommend it to all ages and if you have the time you could incorporate this visit with a ride on a steam train into Totnes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We didn't see too many butterflies but I think this was probably because they were still emerging from their crysallis - there were certainly loads doing just that. However, the butterflies that we did see were very beautiful and a delight. The pools had terrapins and very large koi. All in all very well laid out. After the butterflies we went through to see the otters and had timed it exactly as they were just going to be fed. At each pen we were told how each otter had come to be at the sanctuary and a little about their wild habitat and lifestyle. Just enough information without overload. The gentleman who gave the talk could have done with a mike so that those of us who wanted to hear what he had to say could hear over the 'chatter' of those around us. Obviously with children around you could not expect them to be quiet so perhaps the organisers should take note. He was very passionate about his subject and made what he had to tell us very interesting. A very good, caring and well looked after sanctuary.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Although we'd visited this site with our children many years ago, for a ride on the steam train, we'd never been to the butterfly house and otter sanctuary before. We're so glad we went this time!
We chose a dry but not wonderful day weather wise, and this was an ideal place to go. We visited on Wednesday 29th May, and got there for the first feeding time of the day. Tim was an excellent guide and we learned a lot and enjoyed finding out about the personalities of the different otters, as well as watching them being fed. The sanctuary also does very good work in rescuing otters in difficulty in the wild and the entrance fee supports this work.
We would definitely recommend this attraction to adults and children alike. We'll certainly go back next time we're in that part of Devon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary also viewed

Manaton, Dartmoor National Park
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Dartmoor Otter Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.