We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As Ever.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dartbridge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dartbridge Inn to your Saves list
Dartbridge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Totnes Rd, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“As Good As Ever.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is our third visit to the Dartbridge Inn and as usual a warm and friendly welcome. Sure floorboards creaked but as far as we were concerned added to the charm of the place, cleanliness is paramount here as is the quality of the food. The lady who serves the breakfast is a great asset to the pub and nothing appears to be to much trouble for her. Would we recommend a visit ? YES.

Room Tip: Overlooking the seating area not the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    106
    43
    21
    15
See reviews for
26
177
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel was ok for what we paid, food was average, Sat morning no sausages at breakfast, we were not offered anything in its place, Sun night no roast dinners available.
Floorboards in the room creaked a lot, walls very thin !!! toilet very hard to flush and lighting very dim.
Do not stay in room 3 there is an air vent right outside the window, however the bed linen was clean, plenty of hot water, staff were good although the management could do with some lessons in smiling, would probably stay agin.....at a push.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the air vents
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback, we apologise about the standard of food quality clearly this did not match the high standards we set ourselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely old pub with moorland walks nearby. Lovely atmosphere in the bar, with log fire and excellent food and service. Staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. However, was disappointed with the accommodation. At £80 per night b & b there are better deals to be had. Very small room and tiny bathroom. Window overlooked generator which was noisy and flood light from car park shone directly into the room.

Room Tip: Ask for largest room available !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. Our room rate does fluxuate depending on the level of bookings and times of the season. We do appreciate that some look over the river and some do look over the back of the hotel. I can only apologise that you did not enjoy this aspect of your stay as the rest delivered to your expectation. On booking in the future please call direct and we will ensure we meet your expectations for your preferred room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looking for somewhere for lunch on a day out, we decided to give this place a try. There is a warm welcome feeling as soon as you come in and the staff are all pleasant and accommodating. Food was great - presentation good and portion size perfect. Children enjoyed their choices too and its a shame we ran out of time as we would have loved to have sampled the deserts - plenty to choose from!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth uk
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a lunchtime meal here with friends, have not been here for some time as it was so bad and expensive, as you will see from other reviews I have written I tell it as it is this place has greatly improved big roaring log fire when you arrive good bar choice the service was good and we chose from the £9.95 menu which was very satisfactory I cannot speak as regards accommodation as we did not stay but overall good value for money, I believe it is part of green king but we all thought it was good and will return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent meal with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a lovely two night break at The Dartbridge Inn Buckfastleigh Devon. We found the hotel very pleasant and inparticular the ambience downstairs. We had visited another Old English Inn establishment last year ( The Bell Inn Woburn ) and had enjoyed the stay there too so we like the direction that Old Englsh Inns are going in. We felt the environment at The Dartbridge Inn is not dissimilar to some of the more recent, modern Wetherspoons environments where the hotel offer food theme nights with something for every pallate and pocket. The food was of a very good standard and the staff were friendly, efficient and polite and management seemed enthusiastic to get things right, The dining room was really lovely ( classic colour scheme) and with the forthcoming festive season nearly on us it will be a super venue for Christmas.My husband and I love our wine so I would have liked to have more choice of really good red wine from the new world of wines and not just Australian and European countries.

Our room and bed was particularly comfortable, sort of rock solid matress with good quality pillows and good crisp cotton high thread count sheets, great for a good nights sleep. Negative points .. small ones really but attention to detail required on cleaning in general,also down stairs sits a fire which is probably gas,one of the ones made to look like a real fire. It was never lit though littered with rubbish over the two days we were there and just left, this, we felt was a focal point on entering the hotel and I could see may be a bit off putting to visitors.The stairs to the guest quarters needed a good hoover, the carpets had seen better days,the bed side cabinets need to be pulled out as quite dusty down the sides. I was led to believe the rooms are work in progress as ours was a bit shabby chic ( artex is dfinitely not in any more), however that said we had a lovely two days and the positives to this hotel/ staff and ambience far out weighed the negatives points I make herewith.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Dartbridge Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just stayed 2 nights and had a thoroughly good time. Every member of staff was friendly, good humoured and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped. The food was great and the service efficient. Centrally located for touring the area with easy access to the main road. We look forward to a return visit and will recommend to others. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be dark but could be quieter than rooms at the front, which are light but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dartbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbridge Inn

Address: Totnes Rd, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dartbridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Dartbridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartbridge Hotel Buckfastleigh
Dartbridge Inn Buckfastleigh, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartbridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.