We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy happy 3 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchelcroft B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mitchelcroft B&B to your Saves list
Mitchelcroft B&B
Scorriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Castries, St. Lucia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Happy happy 3 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Michael and Debbie have got a very special place here. The feeling is of visiting family but with none of the stress. Only the good bits. The rooms are modern and very comfortable. Lovely breakfasts shared with 2 other couples max. Fresh tea and cakes everyday. Gorgeous views and lots to do in the area

Room Tip: Your selection will depend on what size bed you need as all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
It was our pleasure, we enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Absolutely amazing stay. Beautiful place. Lovely room with nice views. Great breakfast. Debbie and Mike were fantastic. I love this place and definitely come back. Thank you for such a good experience. Dasha & Mike.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
So Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

What can I say about Michelcroft B&B "Amazing". Debbie and Michael are lovely hosts so friendly and welcoming. Everything about this B&B was A1. I have stayed in quite a view B&Bs and this is one of the best I have ever stayed in. I think what made it so amazing was just not the fact that the rooms were very modern beach like in fact, the bathroom was beautiful (even though it was small), very clean and the great views they even had a field next to their garden with sheep and lambs in was just heavenly but what made it stand out more from all the rest of the B&Bs that I have stayed in was Debbie and Michael's warm friendly welcoming and how engaging they were. I would for sure stay at The Mitchelcroft again If I was in area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
I maybe late in replying but it's very appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallington England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night, and can only say I wish it was longer. This is a fantastic B & B. Debbie came out to welcome us as soon as we arrived, she was friendly and attentive, and made us feel at home immediately. The room was lovely, with a comfortable bed, and great shower.
I was going to go out to the local pub for a meal, but on arriving didn't feel like going out, so Debbie made us a couple of platters, which were lovely, and since we gave her no notice for this at all, miraculous. We sat in the guests lounge and watched TV, with an open fire, and felt so at home.
The breakfast was excellent, in the conservatory, around a large table, and had a great conversation with other guests.
This was a great B & B experience, which I would recommend 100%, and hope to repeat. Thank you Debbie and Michael for opening your beautiful home to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Lovely review, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have just returned home from two fabulous nights at Mitchelcroft . Having arrived later than planned after a difficult week at work we both immediately relaxed at this beautiful bed and breakfast , we were treated to two of Debbie's wonderful platters and a glass of something cold !
Our room was beautifully decorated and we awoke the next morning to views over the pond towards the fields full of newborn lambs .
We could not fault this haven , booked as a treat for our wedding anniversary and were very sad to leave though have been massively inspired to continue with our own renovations !
Thankyou Debbie and Michael .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay Dawnne, you both needed some TLC so we were only too pleased to oblige. We look forward to offering it again when needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Mitchelcroft in March 2014 for five nights, chosen after reading previous Trip Advisor reviews.

The welcome from Debbie and Michael was warm, friendly and engaging and set the tone for a wonderfully comfortable stay. We choose the Pond Room which was spacious, well equipped, with a superbly comfortable bed and a spacious ensuite bathroom with a great bath and separate shower...and sitting out (even in early March) on our own private deck overlooking the pond and rolling fields beyond was fantastic in the morning sun.

Breakfasts at Mitchelcroft use the best of local ingredients and we loved the poached eggs and maple cured bacon, worth staying for the breakfasts alone!

Mitchelcroft provides a fantastic location for exploring south Devon with so many attractions a short drive or cycle away, yet set in a peaceful location on the edge of the Dartmoor National Park.

We can't recommend this slice of heaven in Devon strongly enough and have already booked another stay for later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, but the best review is always a return booking and we look forward to your visit in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Debbie and Michael for making us so welcome and helping us decipher the maps. Loved sitting in front of the fire each evening before wandering down to the local pub for dinner. And the breakfasts were fantastic. Truly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker3467, Owner at Mitchelcroft B&B, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Sherrie, thank you for your review, glad we could offer some Devon hospitality when you were so far away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitchelcroft B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchelcroft B&B

Address: Scorriton, Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park TQ11 0HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Buckfastleigh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Buckfastleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitchelcroft is set in 5 acres of hayfields and garden and lies within the Dartmoor National Park, nestling in a beautiful patchwork of hillsides on the edge of the moor. Scoriton makes a good base for a longer stay. Wonderful walking either on the coast (a short drive away), the National Trust's Hembury Woods with its wild daffodils, bluebells and river dart at its base, or, of course, Dartmoor is on the doorstep. There is secure bike storage and some wonderful routes over Dartmoor direct from the house if cycling is your interest. A five minute walk from the house takes you to our lovely local pub, The Tradesman's Arms, serving great food every night of the week.Mitchelcroft is close to Holne, Ashburton, Buckfastleigh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mitchelcroft B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitchelcroft B&B Buckfastleigh, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchelcroft B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.