We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Edgemoor Country House Hotel to your Saves list
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haytor Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a few days break on Dartmoor, staying at the Edgemoor Hotel. We were very impressed with the hotel, full of character and in a beautiful setting. The staff were excellent, efficient, and helpful. The food was also very good, we will definitely be going back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    50
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
44
101
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wembley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were attending a wedding across the road from the hotel, so had booked for convenience. However, the hotel was so good I will come back again for sure.
We were put in a newer annexe at the rear, which has a little garden outside the back door, and a trellis outside the front, with a small lobby before you enter the room. The room was fine, as was the bathroom. I thought the bed would be a little soft for me, but I slept very well.
We only had a couple of dishes there, as well as the breakfast, but everything was of a high order, very tasty and well cooked with ample portions.
The staff were all very friendly with a nice sense of humour.....very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were doing a trip around Cornwall and Devon, but had not booked any accommodation along the way which may not have been the best thing to do as it was a bank holiday weekend. We were nearing the end of the day and prospects of accommodation were looking grim till we found the Edgemoor Country, they had one room left, as you approach you know immediatley that you have got something right.

From the moment we stepped into the Edgemoor till the moment we left we felt like the King and Queen, the reception we received was wonderful, with a very warm welcom.

It is an old school converted and it has been done very well, the room was great,clean and tidy with comfortable bed and soft pillows (nice change), the other thing about the room that stood out was the quality of toilet paper, not seen very often now.

Once settled in we ordered a Devonshire tea, as we had still not had one, I dont think that they were still doing it but once again nothing seems to be a problem to these guys and not only did we get our Devonshire tea they gave us both a complimentary glass of champers as well, what more could you ask for.

We ate in the restaurant but before going there we went to the bar where it seemed all the other customers were ever so friendly, and Simon the owner was wonderful, he had a great selection of wine and we some very good New Zealand wine from the cellar.

The meal was fabulous, and the wait staff very friendly, we had such an enjoyable night.

We woke to rain, but also to a wonderful breakfast, the staff once again could not do enough for us, and I noticed that others added and subtracted different things from the breakfast and it was not a problem, they also offered more toast to everyone so you felt like you were really set up the day.

Overall, wonderful experience with very friendly hosts. Would not hesitate to come back again.

Thanks!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Kiwi904

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you were made to feel like Kind and Queen and you were able to sample some British Hospitality. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and joining in with Simon and his wines. We hope you have had a safe journey back home and do hope to see you if you are back in the future

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

If you are reading this, it's because you are considering whether to book this hotel. You must not be put off by " moirjohn's" (from London) review. We stayed at the Edgemoor the day before him/her, admittedly on a Groupon offer) but cannot agree with his/her comment about unhelpful service! Was he/she actually at the same place?
From the moment we arrived, the staff could not do enough to help us. They served a delicious cream tea on the lawn outside, suggested walks and pubs for our evening meal and lent us maps. They recommended which taxi company to use. In fact, the list goes on and on.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful room and was very relaxing.
Our dog was made very welcome too and our room( the Baskerville) was perfect for our stay. The bed was comfortable. If I was really going to find something, I would say the decor was in need of a freshen up. However, it would not put me off booking with this hotel again.
We were on our way down to the coast and were sorry we had to leave.
Oh yes, and the hospitality tray was great!!
I told the management on check out that I would write them a glowing review, so "yer t'is"!
WELL DONE TO THE STAFF AT THE EDGEMOOR!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Jewel HB

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us and also for posting some of your photos on the site. It is so enjoyable to see guests taking in the surroundings we have to offer. Baskerville room along with 3 others are having a facelift this year so i do hope we can welcome you back to see our handy work

Kind Regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel is in a pretty setting with plenty of parking. The lady at reception was friendly and escorted us up to our room on the first floor overlooking the front garden. The furnishings were a little dated but the room was comfortable. Surprisingly, the two bedside tables were quite dusty but I'm inclined to believe this was an oversight as everywhere else was clean. There was a gap under the door so there were occasional cooking smells and stair noise but we actually had a quiet, comfortable night. Cannot comment on the food as we had already eaten before our late arrival and had to make a quick start without breakfast in the morning but we could recommend The Edgemoor for a night's stay and would definitely return another time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Rebeccalina

Thank your for leaving feedback following your stay with us. I am sorry that dust was found on the bedside lamps, certainly not what I would like our guests to experience . Sorry you could not enjoy the delights of the Restaurant, hopefully if you stay with us again you will be able to dine with us

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a wonderful afternoon with cream tea, then a very excellent dinner before staying the night at the Edgemoor.
The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.
A lovely place for a get away but also if you needed somewhere for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Angela

Thank you for your review, our cream teas are popular, chef does enjoy this time of the year with all the scones we sell! keeps him busy. I am pleased you were made to feel welcome during your stay

Kind Regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just spent 2 days staying at this charming family run hotel, what a wonderful restful place it is.The staff are lovely and very helpful.
It is also dog friendly so that you can take your pet with you,doggy blanket & towel supplied for the dogs.
Rooms are spacious and have everything that you need for a relaxing stay.
It is an old grammer school converted into a hotel,
The Gardens were very pretty with daffodils,primroses,violets etc already out in blossom.
Just a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles R, General Manager at The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Cecillianne

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us, I am pleased that you and your dog enjoyed your stay and we are pleased the dog blanket and towel came in useful. Thank you for your feedback on our gardens I will pass your feedback on to Peter our Gardener

Kind regards


Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgemoor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgemoor Country House Hotel

Address: Haytor Road, Bovey Tracey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9LE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Bovey Tracey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bovey Tracey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Edgemoor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Edgemoor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgemoor Country Hotel
Edgemoor Country Hotel
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel Bovey Tracey, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgemoor Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.