We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender House Hotel
Save
You added Lavender House Hotel to your Saves list
Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Ashburton B&B and Inns
Welcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a gem. We had a wonderful stay at the Lavender House hotel. The food was excellent, both the breakfast and the evening meal. The bed was very comfortable, something you don't often find in hotels. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The whole place has a really lovely comfortable feel about it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    56
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
108
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-day stay in Lavender House. Idyllic surroundings, fantastic food and wonderful hosts. We were made so welcome from the time we arrived to the time we left. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedroom was tastefully decorated, the beds were extremely comfortable and the view superb. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We enjoyed it so much we have booked to return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a wonderful surprise. We had an excellent 2 day break. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The whole experience was fantastic value for money and will definately be back to explore more of Devon attractions and countryside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic - one of the comfiest beds we've ever had service and food for breakfast and evening meal was top notch good wine fantastic log fire and leather sofas. cannot recommend highly enough if you want warm family welcome and relaxation look no further. although wet and cold outside gardens looked lovely for a summer wedding

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had read many excellent reviews of this hotel and were not disappointed at all; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel's location is excellent, it is easy to get to, but is tucked away in a quiet location with stunning views of Dartmoor. Our room was very comfortable, although an older building, the decor was modern and both the towels and bedding were excellent quality.
The owners are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. They had an excellent knowledge of the area and gave helpful tips of where to visit and directions on how to get there. Sitting next to the roaring log fire in the bar area with a drink each evening was a real treat after busy days exploring Devon. The breakfasts were DELICIOUS! The food was lovingly prepared and the breakfast room was light, airy and comfortable.
We cannot fault our stay and certainly will be back!

Room Tip: We had a corner room that looked over the garden at the back of the hotel, it had a double aspect wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel through group on and I have to say we were sad to leave! Our room was quite small but very comfortable with lovely cotton linen. The owners are very welcoming and once we'd got comfy in front of the fire with a glass of wine on the first afternoon we were hooked! We decided to stay in that evening and eat in the hotel - we were very impressed with the quality of the food! It was so nice we ate there the second night as well.

On the whole, this hotel is very relaxing and you are made feel part of the family - nothing is too much trouble! We will be back very soon!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Have just returned from an excellent value 2 day stay at Lavender House Hotel booked through a Groupon offer. The hotel was in a great position to visit both Dartmoor and the coast. The staff were friendly and effficient. Our room was warm, clean and had good views of the moors. We were impressed that there were tea making facilities, complimentary toiletries and the towels/ duvets were of a very high quality. The food could not be faulted - the breakfast choices were endless and the evening meals were of a high standard. The log fire made the bar area very welcoming.
We will definitely look out for any future Groupon offers to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House Hotel

Address: Knowle Hill, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dartmoor Short Breaks & Wedding Venues in Devon. Set in three acres, the lavender House Hotel enjoys panoramic views of the picturesque Dartmoor National Park set in the heart of Devon, and is just one mile from the popular stannary town of Ashburton. Lavender House is licensed for Civil Ceremonies both in the Garden Gazebo or within the Hotel. Being set alone makes it an ideal venue for all kinds of parties and functions. Lavender House benefits from having ample parking facilities and its peaceful, yet accessible position. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lavender House Hotel Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.