We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun, amazing and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dartmoor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Dartmoor Lodge to your Saves list
The Dartmoor Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashburton
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“fun, amazing and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

we stayed here for a christmas party for work and i didnt know what to expect . i was delightfully amazed .relaxed atmosphere and staff instantly made me relaxed and ready for my evening.
The food was hot and tasty and plenty of it .The bedroom was warm ,clean and tidy and plenty of linen and reshreshments .i was very surprised that such a small hotel could give such a great evening and the log fire was amazing and a very big bonus for me .

Room Tip: we were in the main building very traditional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay, particularly during the festive season when we are so busy.
We are extremely proud of our staff, who work hard with us to give our clients an enjoyable experience.
We hope that we will see you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    51
    24
    9
    13
See reviews for
41
102
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

just returned from 2 nights at this hotel. it was in a great position for touring devon, very comfortable rooms, fantastic breakfasts and the staff were very helpful. would definatly stay there again.
also the nearby town of ashburton was well worth a visit, some lovely shops and local pubs were very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are fortunate to be in an ideal location for both Dartmoor National Park, the South West Coast and between Exeter and Plymouth.

We hope that you decide to stay with us again to explore the South West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Have been here a couple of times once for a carvery and recently for our works xmas party although the service is excellent the food is average, firstly the carvery which was ok, expensive for what you get I have had other carvery's locally and have eaten in the Royal Oak and the Silent Whistle and both are better in terms of quality. The Party was poor a colleague had pate on toast which consisted of a quarter of a slice of bread and a chunk of pate for starters and the food was very average, also we purchased a bottle of house wine and it cost £20 and was not at all nice it tasted like a cheap bottle of supermarket plonk. Our previous years do was at Ashburton Con Club and was far superior, its a shame as its put us off going again. I would love to give a more positive review but feel I can't on this occasion but on the good side the place is very clean and tidy and the staff and service are great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your dining experiences at the Dartmoor Lodge. Your comments have been noted. We believe that your colleague was offered more bread but declined the offer, we are always keen to ensure that our guests enjoy their visit to us, and had we known at the time that your party were not happy we are sure we could have altered your opinion of us!. We do not have "House Wines", but do offer a selection of wines by the glass and bottle, and work with our wine supplier to produce a wine list that will compliment our cuisine and as such do not stock lower end of the market wine choices, however it is unfortunate that the wine that you selected, which was not one of our less expensive wines was not to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was the third time we have stayed here. All the staff are really welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean, Food is very good and well priced. Breakfast is well worth getting up for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make your comments. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Once again, thanks to Trevor & Diane and every member of the team at the Dartmoor Lodge. We've had another lovely week there and were very pleased to find that everything is still at the usual high standard. We've been going to this hotel for many years and have got to know all the members of staff and have always found everyone to be helpful, friendly and good at their jobs - one of the reasons we keep returning. We always have the same room, and this was beautifully decorated with a well-appointed bathroom and lovely views. Spacious car parking always makes arriving and departing easy, and there were always plenty of spaces available when we returned each day, no matter how busy the hotel was. As the evenings begin to get a bit chilly in November, the feature fireplace made the bar a very welcoming environment for a drink in the evening and dinner in the restaurant was always superb and served exactly as we had asked. Highly recommended hotel in a great location. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you linda, it is always such a pleasure to see you both. I'm sorry not to have responded sooner, but you know us!!!, we look forward to seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place came highly reccommended and we can see why!!! We loved every second of our stay. the rooms were beautiful, staff were very helpfull and the food was to die for!!!! not to mention being set in one of teh most beautiful locations I have ever seen. We are already planning our return visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We must apologies for not responding sooner, life is always hectic!! Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased that you intend to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I visited Dartmoor Lodge for our anniversary for a two night break. We managed to get a great deal fo the two nights and even got a room upgrade for free. Staff are so friendly and helpful even providing us with directions to local attractions. The bed was dreamy and provided an excellent nights sleep. The food was lovely and very reasonable in price using local produce with generous portions. The hotel was very cosy with log fires and oak beams and very clean. I would reccomend this hotel. Perfect location too.

Room Tip: If you visit within a week of your birthday you get a bottle of wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane C, Owner at The Dartmoor Lodge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forard to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dartmoor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dartmoor Lodge

Address: Peartree Cross, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dartmoor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under private ownership, the Dartmoor Lodge, nestled between rolling hills on the edge of Dartmoor, yet deceptively close to the A38. Perfect base to explore the beautiful Devon countryside. Beamed restaurant, open fire, locally sourced produce. Friendly and efficient staff. 22 en-suite rooms, meeting/conference facilities, function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Dartmoor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
Dartmoor Hotel Ashburton
The Dartmoor Lodge Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dartmoor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.