We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach House, Whistley Hall

Ashburton
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kevin H
Reigate
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just stayed at The Coach House, Whistley Hall, Ashburton for a long weekend whilst I was at Ashburton Cookery School, Jenny & Steve were great hosts and have done a fantastic job converting the Coach House. It was spotlessly clean and is a great set up with really good cooking facilities.

A big plus in Ashburton was the car parking and being centrally located there was no need to use the car locally. The Coach House is maintained and decorated throughout to a high standard with plenty of room to relax. We will certainly return when in the area again

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spotlessly Clean, Quality Fixtures, Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
breakinpi...
1 review
“Lovely little cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Fantastic stay in a lovely cottage with very accommodating owners. Great location in the town of Ashburton. The cottage has a tasteful and modern finish with plenty of comfortable features. Would wholeheartedly recommend!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: LOvely kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dj_jamesw...
1 review
“Perfect Birthday Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We were looking for a cottage with character, that was ideal for couples, and in a location that was secluded in the countryside but close enough to do things so we didn't have to drive anywhere if we didn't want to - and we were certainly not dissapointed as The Coach House ticked every box!

We really loved everything about both the Coach House and Asburton - beautiful village with lovely views of the moor with multiple pubs and restaurants within a 2 minute walk

Thanks again Jen - we will be back :)

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Keith B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Alice in wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

It was mine and friends first trip to Devon, jen and Steve were such a beautifull welcome making us feel at home before we even entered the guest house. Wow , what a guest house I want to keep it a secret so I won't tell you how utterly beautiful, spacious, and equipped the place was, value for money, say no more , after long walks on the moors and the odd couple of pints it was the perfect retreat, a secret don't tell any one!!! , we can't wait to return 10/10

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: It all
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Charlotte...
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunning and cosy property in a lovely village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay - a mixture of old features and contemporary decor and appliances. The living area is very comfortable, the bedroom cosy and the kitchen and bathroom modern and exactly what you need to have an enjoyable stay.
Owned by a lovely couple who live next door and are happy to help with anything you need.
Ideal for couples/friends and possibly with one child if you provide a cot/matress for them.
The property is situated in Ashburton, a village that has everything you need including a Co-op, pubs, bakery, butchers, takeaways and gift shops.
The perfect retreat after a day exploring Devon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The kitchen was great - we cooked all our own meals and didn't need to spend money eating out.
Liked least: A minor detail - the pillows. Just personal preference though!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$117
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jen+Steve T
Speaks English, French, German
Listed since : Nov 2012
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few days
Calendar Updated: 39 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing