We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undercooked chips but friendly service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Mullet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Red Mullet
1 St Lawrence Lane, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7DD, England
01364652943
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Ashburton
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Essex
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Undercooked chips but friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Picked up some fish and chips here as was the nearest place to our holiday home in Woodland. Service was friendly and prices very reasonable, but sadly the burgers were very small and the chips were undercooked. Wanted it to be good but wasn't as nice as either of the other F&C place we went to that week - Hanburys in Babbacombe and Ivy Fish bar in Ivybridge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Simply the best fish and chips around also the burgers are really good even though i am local and its convenient this is the only chippy i would use, chips are lovely and the fish is great nice crisp batter and not at all greasy keep up the good work

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not the best by a long shot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Chips were not properly cooked too greasy and fish and other items on the menu are uninteresting and lack flavour lots of potential as the only chippy in town but just can't seem to get it right

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1,281 helpful votes 1,281 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chippy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I grew up in Ashburton and have seen The Red Mullet change hands a few times over the years but it's never faltered in being a great local fish and chip shop.
Having sampled nearly everything from their reasonably extensive menu I've yet to find anything that I would consider below par.
The food is great, the staff courteous and polite. What more could a person want? The only thing I've yet to brave is their battered Mars bar. It looks like a deep fried heart attack to me but my daughter ensures me it's most delicious.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,064 reviews 1,064 reviews
577 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
3,923 helpful votes 3,923 helpful votes
“Average fish and chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I have visited on several occasions and generally found the food to be average to good. Last time I visited was a Saturday night and we were a little perturbed to find that there was no haddock, only cod available (which was sitting in the heater). The fish was pleasant, but the batter on it was not particularly crisp (fortunately it wasn't coated too thickly) and the chips were OK. I think the food is better when cooked to order. It's by no means a bad fish and chip shop, and the only one locally I think, but probably no better really than average.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Mullet also viewed

Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Red Mullet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Mullet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.