We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faith in pubs restored” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Culm Valley Inn

Culm Valley Inn
Riverside, Culmstock, Cullompton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Culmstock
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Faith in pubs restored”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A very good pint of properly kept and served bitter straight from the firkin started a memorable lunch of whole lemon sole served with purple potatoes and cooked to perfection, a whole plaice with citrus butter,delicious, and a Thai curry, no need to go to Bangkok when you can get this in Devon.An amazingly delicious Portuguese almond tart with cream from the strawberries others were enjoying, and excellent coffee. Characterful pub with knowledgeable friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    5
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire. UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay, thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Arrived in the heat wave having driven the length of the country to be greeted with a beer for my beer loving husband and a pint of pimms for me...very welcome! Rooms were perfect, very clean, very simple and exactly what we were hoping for - actually they exceeded our expectations.
We had booked a table for dinner but since the weather was unbelievable we sat in the garden and ate there. Dinner was excellent, we shared starters and all had fish dishes for our mains, lovely wine and then to bed. Wondered if we would sleep well with a pub underneath our rooms but we certainly did.
Breakfast was delicious too with homemade sausage and homemade black pudding (our absolute favourite).
The whole experience was excellent, we loved the place, the dogs, the cat and of course, Richard. We would be delighted to visit again if we were ever in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lunch by the Culm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Have been here dozens of times and it never fails to satisfy! Great location, great atmosphere and ambiance, excellent cider and Beer and a fabulous menu and home cooked food and very special menu. We had Sunday lunch yesterday that was beautiful, the very helpful waitress and chef opened the kitchen after they had shut, after what was clearly a very busy and hot day, thank you very much! Village Cricket was on today so everyone was off to the Cricket ground apart from 20 to 30 people swimming and paddling in the weir of the Culm, locations and lunchtimes do not get much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Dogs, cats, beer, wine, bar games, great landlord, family team serving and working the kitchen. A real country pub. But wait there is more! The food is out of this world. Try the cracked crab, unbelievably good and HUGE. On a sunny sat eve you just cannot get better

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

A true country pub! Called in for a lunch time ploughmans which I thought was lovely. Very dog friendly so if you don't like dogs this won't be the place for you! Plenty of outside sitting on a sunny day

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culm Valley Inn also viewed

 
South Petherton, Somerset
Cullompton, Devon
 

Been to Culm Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culm Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.