We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If carlsberg did hotels......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Northcote Manor Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burrington EX37 9LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If carlsberg did hotels......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our expectations were high having seen the reviews and photos on line but we were blown away by the service notably from Sian and Sorry missed his name but the other guy who insisted on taking our bags to our room

Whilst not the best for facilities - pools saunas et al - the Northcote more than makes up for it in character charm and luxury

We experienced the 6 course gourmet meal and experience it certainly was from the accompanying wines to the final course simply heaven and for us the highlight was the most perfectly cooked (no need to ask how you would like your steak cooked as there was only ONE way to have this) fillet of beef - the best steak I have ever tasted by a country mile!!!

The room was excellent - the breakfast as good as I have ever had - great views -wonderful setting and did I mention the service !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    104
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
330
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our second visit to Northcote Manor and we booked this stay through Secret Escapes. We stayed in the Manor Suite which is situated at the back of the building above the kitchen. Unfortunately I have very sensitive hearing and the noise of the kitchen extractor was very annoying and we could hear all the noises from the kitchen below. I think we were probably spoilt on our first visit when we had a lovely quiet suite at the front of the building. The room was lovely and we had a large whirlpool bath. The food was excellent again especially the beef which was the best I had ever tasted. All the staff were extremely helpful especially Mitchell and Angela? the lady who was serving breakfast. We look forward to revisiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front away from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard E, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you, it is lovely for the team to receive such wonderful feedback. We’re sorry to hear the about the fan. Due to health and safety regulations we must have the fan on whilst the gas is alight. Despite this we endeavour to turn the fan off as early as possible. I'm glad to hear it didn't affect your stay too much and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had dinner, bed and breakfast for one night at this beautiful location and want to return!
The staff are very helpful and friendly and we received a warm welcome. We stayed in one of the suites, which was tastefully decorated and very comfortable.
Every public room was also clean and welcoming, no shabby carpets or chipped paintwork here! Thank you to everyone who made our stay a very pleasant one, we plan to return in the "dry season" so we can walk in the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay. Despite the weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food and staff were first class. The room was bijou but more than adequate.Can strongly recommend this hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed several times at Northcote Manor some years ago, and eventually felt it had 'gone off' a wee bit. However, given the passage of time, we decided to give it another try, taking Jack, the pointer, since the hotel is dog-friendly.

This is a country house hotel situated in a lovely, remote part of North Devon within easy striking distance of RHS Rosemoor, Lynton, and the magnificent sands of Woolacombe, which in winter you can have all to yourself apart from the occasional dog-walker, and intrepid surfer.

The quality and ambience of Northcote was definitely back to firing on all cylinders. For hospitality I would award the hotel 110%. Whoever trains the staff, trains them well. Everyone was warm, welcoming and helpful, without ever becoming obsequious or over-bearing. Service prompt, nothing too much trouble. Spot on!

The head chef/hotel manager knows his onions. The cuisine is of a high standard, and if you are on one of the advertised discounted breaks, the dinner, bed-and-breakfast 'combo' represents excellent value. The standard menu is admittedly a trifle limited, and was unchanged on both consecutive nights of our stay, but aside from that minor niggle, no complaints there.

Beds are comfortable, rooms very pleasant, views delightful. Even the dog-friendly rooms are fully up-to-the-mark.

About the only minor flaws we could find were with housekeeping, which perhaps needs a gentle prod. The bedrooms and bathroom were very clean and well-maintained - but small details just take the edge off - cobwebs in places where cobwebs didn't ought to be, cups with chips out of them, a chipped glass candle holder on the dining table. We did also encounter an annoyingly loud (enough to wake you) motor noise that occurred from somewhere inside the building periodically through the night, but that was pointed out and the information was appreciated.

Those, however, are pernickety points. All in all, a relaxing couple of days in gracious, friendly, warm, clean surroundings. Brace yourselves, Northcote, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the front, in the old house - there is now a new extension that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this review and choosing to return. We’re delighted you (and Jack the pointer) enjoyed your stay. We’re sorry to hear about the issues experienced with housekeeping – we’ll take a look at this. Thank you once again, we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for one night in december and booked through TRAVELZOO.We were greeted at the entrance by the hotel manager and one of the reception staff who gave us a tour of the hotel before taking us to our room(dragonfly suite).The room was very comfortable and clean and more than adequate for our needs with a veranda accessed by french windows which would have been a godsend in better weather. In the evening we went to the restaurant for the seven course taster menu which included wine with five courses.The food was excellent and the service faultless;the intimacy of the atmosphere really added something to the whole experience.fabulous hotel,fabulous staff,congratulations on creating a fabulous experience for your guests. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to the Northcote Manor hotel and as soon as we walked through the door we remembered exactly how much we love this hotel and it's staff.
Our room was clean, well equipped with lovely extra touches - handmade biscuits, welcome tray, mints and apples.
We had coffee served in one of the lounge areas in front of a roaring log fire once we had unpacked and it was a lovely way to spend an hour of total relaxation.
In the evening we had the gourmet 7 course tasting menu with wine which was amazing, the menu was well thought out and the main course of beef was truly astounding, it melted in the mouth. There wasn't one course that we didn't really enjoy. Our meal was followed by coffee, petit fours and a few more drinks in the lounge area.

There were only 6 people staying at the hotel but the staff couldn't have been more professional, friendly or attentive and their attitude really makes this hotel special.

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night but it certainly won't be our last visit here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original part of the hotel, Chulmleigh room overlooking the front grounds which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northcote Manor Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Manor Country House Hotel

Address: Burrington EX37 9LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Burrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Manor Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 AA red starts, 2 AA Rosettes, AA notable wine list and 'Devon Venue' in the Westcountry Wedding Awards. Northcote manor is a cherished Country House Hotel set in the foothills of Exmoor National Park, Enjoy sweeping views over the Taw Valley, sundowners on the sun terrace and cream teas on the lawn or in front of crackling log fires. The perfect wedding venue or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Northcote Manor Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northcote Manor Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Hotel Umberleigh
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel Burrington, Devon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northcote Manor Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.