We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sampford Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sampford Guest House
Save
You added Sampford Guest House to your Saves list
57 - 59 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Brixham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just had our 2nd stay of the year at Sampford and can only echo everyone else. Fantastic place to stay. Matthew and Rosie are the perfect hosts. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing. We will definitely be back very soon.
Thank you so much
Jason and Sarah x

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room if you can....Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
283
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been numerous times but never stayed in the cottage before . It was so cosy and comfortable with superb views over the harbour. It is ideal for a small dog . It was lovely to have a bit more space . This combined with 'Rosies' superb breakfast made it the ideal stay . Rosie and Matthew are excellent hosts and go that extra mile for you . They remembered I was vegetarian and my husband was gluten free , all catered for and not a problem . Matthew always gives any information you need to know about surrounding areas and where is good to visit . Can't wait to go back again . Thank you again Matthew and Rosie for another wonderful stay .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I needed somewhere to stay overnight - we are moving down to Brixham and had a house viewing the following morning. It was our good fortune that Matthew & Rosie had a vacancy for that night only. Yes, the room was a little small but comfortable and extremely well deigned, fitting our needs perfectly. The shower room was huge and a terrific bonus, as was the included car parking facility.
The couple hosted like 'new best friends' and we really appreciated their in-depth knowledge of the town and surrounding area.
Nothing more needs to said, apart from that we had an enjoyable short stay, agree with all the other positive reviews and can't wait to be come nearby friends and neighbours.
On a more personal note - if I can become half as relaxed as Matthew, who appears to be completely at ease with himself and his life style, I will really enjoy my retirement! Thanks Matthew.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have returned for a 3rd visit and what more can one say the title says it all. Sampford House is an ideal holiday break for every generation. Matthew and Rosie are first class hosts and nothing is ever to much - what ever time of day you arrive there is always a welcome with a smiling face and they help in assisting with the luggage to your room. All rooms are spotless and Rosie's breakfast is lush. Matthew's knowledge of the area is fantastic as once he has given you a couple of ideas your holiday as been made complete. If anyone said to us where would you go for a holiday break it would be Sampford house as it is a great guest house, great location and two great hosts.Well done Rosie and Matthew for being awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2013. We'll be back. Ian & Sue Phillips

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just returned from another great long weekend at Sampford House Brixham. From the moment that Matthew opened the door it felt like we had never been away! As always the dining room and our room were spotless.Rosie`s breakfast was, as always, spot on. All you could want from a "Full English" or any combination of the presented items.A word of advice, book early to avoid being dissapointed as "The Sampford", justifiably, gets more and more busy with returning guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

lovely views, clean and comfortable, with a first class breakfast.
very knowledgeable and friendly hosts, would recommend to anybody we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

many thanks

dave and julie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sampford Guest House in April 2013 and had a lovely time. The breakfast is fab!!! The rooms are small but really nice and if you are able to get a harbour view as it is gorgeous! The owners are really lovely and are a font of local knowledge so despite the bad weather we were able to find things to do. Would go back in a flash!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sampford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampford Guest House

Address: 57 - 59 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sampford House has wonderful views across the harbour of the historic town of Brixham. The guest has been registered 'Excellent' by Tripadvisor for 2012. The guest house has 6 lovely rooms including a seperate cottage attached with a seperate lounge and 4 Poster bed. There are plenty of beautiful walks and the fishing is good!!!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sampford Guest House Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.