We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wall Park Holiday Centre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wall Park Holiday Centre
Save
You added Wall Park Holiday Centre to your Saves list
Wall Park Road, Brixham TQ5 9UG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Brixham
near portsmouth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

My husband and I and a couple of friends have just returned from a 4 day break at Wall Park Holiday centre.We nearly did not go after we read some of the reviews!We had visions of a very run down filthy campsite.
As we drove into the site we were greeted with an array of beautiful well kept flower beds& the man at the gate was very friendly and told us where to park.The staff at reception were very happy and helpful.The camp site was clean and looked as it had been freshly painted.The chalet was basic,but clean with fresh bedding.
You could not fault the staff and the meals we had were freshly cooked and tasty.So all in all we had a great time and Brixham is a beautiful fishing village,well worth a visit.Do not believe all that you read!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — not enough kitchen equipment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Having been on many Sun Holidays with our grand children we were dismayed when our first second and third choices were not allocated and we found that we were booked at the so called Colditze of Brixham Wall Park which was until recently owned by Pontins.

We read the reviews and were terrified we spoke to people who had been to the site within the last few years and were even more terrified how bad could it be.

We contacted the Sun to put our fears but after several phone calls and emails the time came around when we had to make a decicion to go or not to go.
We looked seriously at just cutting our losses loosing the £90.00 we had already paid (£38.00 to the sun + £52.00 demanded by Wall park for extras such as electric, linen services and club passes).
We had even got to point of booking provisionally a caravan at Paignton which was to be another £130.00.

We decided that as money was tight and this would be the only holiday our grandchildren would get this year (they come from a split family)We had no choice but to risk it.

Arming ourselves with masses of cleaning kit we went

So loaded down with boxes of cleaning items bought especially for the trip and taking all our own bedding (after reading some of the comments regarding the cleanliness of the place and bedding) we set off loaded right up to the limit.

We had also read about the Hitler on the gate and that being forced to park in muddy fields until after 4pm.

Well after a very easy trip from Bristol with hardly any traffice we arrived at around 1pm at the gate.

First impression not good as a very stern gentleman stopped us and checked our paperwork we commented on what we had read and what we had heard about Wall Perk.

Quite firmly he told us to park in the field adjoining the park wrote down our registration and informed us that we were early but to go to reception and he added don`t believe all you hear about us

From the moment we went into reception we were welcomed by very pleasant staff.
After explaining who we were and passing our Sun details they went out of their way to help.

We were suprisingly informed that although we were 3 hours early there was no problem in us going to our accommodation sraight away and to make use of any part of the park we wished.

With trepidation we drove towards the line of accommodation blocks until we came to the dreaded brown fronted budget class

Surprisingly we found that we could park within easy walking distance on level ground and along pathways.
We had been told and read that you had to park miles away and
yomp your stuff over muddy paths.

The two berth Chalet? Block no 258 stood before us and nervously we unlocked the door.

Another surprise greeted us as although not up to the Hilton it was reasonable, not modern granted but on par with say Croyde
which is on the North Devon coast.

A check of the bedding and linen put our minds at rest that it was although not new was all clean and the Linen was washed pressed and smelled fresh so ours stayed in the car.

The carpet looked like it will need to be replaced soon but was just about adequate.The television was as reported not that big but we were not there to watch the telly so who cared.
The first place the girls wanted to try was the pool so after unpacking off we went.

Again we were pleasantly surprised the pool was although not that big had an indoor and out door section with a water shoot, sauna and solarium all attended by the most polite lifeguards and staff.

The club was reasonable with entertainment for the children and adults and the prices were not to expensive.

The wife did have one point that there was no Stella on sale but she just managed to drink cide, kronenburg or rum so did not go without.
The food which we found on sale was what you would normally find at any holiday camp about average and not really that expensive.
The girls really enjoyed themselves as they were able to walk freely and safely around the park as cars were restricted to certain ways and speeds.

As for Hitler on the gate we fully support the strictness with which the entrance and exit of the site was controlled.
we had some experience of the drunken locals in town one night and were informed that this was one of the reasons for the strict control on the gate.

We felt completely safe and were quite wiling to comply with the checks in and out of the complex.

Positives
The site was very well controlled making sure that only guests and staff were on site.

The Chalet type accommodation although in need of updating was for the price adequate.

The pool area and facilities were excellent as were the staff and lifegaurds.

The club was adequate the staff polite and the prices were not ripoff.

Our grandchildren off 7 and 9 years of age loved the safe freedom of the park and the friendliness of the staff.

As for the chav`s well we have been to several different countries around the world and you get them everywhere so our advice is to ignore them and they will soon be moved on.

The one and only negative is that it is a pig of a walk to the beach
but there you are there are not that many parks that are right on the beach.

The moral of this review is to go and look yourselves and be aware that you are paying very little for what is basically a weeks holiday.

My wife and I have been on many Sun holidays some good and some not so good with and without our grandchildren.

We panicked when when we read some of the reviews about Wall Park but all in these led to an unfair picture of the site

We hope that if you are reading this and intend on going to
Wall Park in the near future take normal precautions but do not despair as the guy on the gate told us as we entered do not believe all you hear as it is not that bad.

  • Liked — Flat and easy access
  • Disliked — Old and in need of updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I have just returned from Wall Park after booking it as a cheap Sun Deal. Even £9.50 per person was a rip-off!!
I had read the reviews on trip advisor and the holiday watchdog site and thought it can't be that bad so took some cleaning stuff and off we went......HOW WRONG CAN YOU BE!!!!
We arrived at 9 Friday night and got apartment 265, the windows were rotten, the carpet could have walked out on it's own as it was so dirty, the sofa bed you wouldn't let your dog sleep on and the radiators smelt like it was burning last years guests!!!!!!
It stunk of urine but we we're so tired after our journey we used a can of air freshener and went to bed.
The following morning we all woke at 6 to be again met by the horrid smell and thought we'll have breakfast and then complain at reception. The cooker was so dirty my sisters were almost sick. Once we got to reception they moved us, no questions asked, almost like they were used to it. The new apartment was still very smelly but an improvement on the 1st (not hard though really). We decided to stay and put up with it as Brixham it's self was lovely and only as we had plug in air fresheners. However one of my sisters still returned home as she feared for her health!!
The only thing good about the place was the staff, all very friendly but maybe they were compensating for the state of the place. Since returning home I have washed everything in my case even stuff we didn't wear as everything stunk so bad I was worried of contamination!!!!!!
If you think I'm exaggerating go, but you have been warned!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing but Brixham is lovely
  • Disliked — The horrid smell of urine
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

We only stayed here as we had a cheap deal and it is close to various relatives we planned to visit.

We paid an extra £80 and upgraded to Club. Thank goodness we did, this was bad enough, but nothing like the sheer hiddeousness of the Budget rooms.

First impressions were usual Stalag type holiday park. There was no car parking near the chalets and we were directed to an overflow carpark, well a field really.

The room was really, really basic. The worst sofa bed you can imagine. Damp, smelly, tired and grubby. Really felt like you needed a shower as soon as you touched any of the furnishings.
Kitchen was okay, had everything you would need, but no one explained the elaborate switch ritual you had to go through each time you wanted to take a shower, or to boil the kettle, or use the microwave?!?!?! Madness.

The twin bedroom was okay, nothing exciting though. Tiny beds and a tiny television. This room was also smelly and felt damp.

We ate at the Conservatory on the first night. Food okay, carvery was lovely, lasagne was nice....but the fish was still frozen in the middle. We asked for it to be changed. Not a word of apology - and the same chips brought back wtih the fresh piece of fish. Horrible.

Ummmm, entertainment, well we went to bingo for a laugh. Trouble was it wasn't very funny. Just loads of chavs sat around drinking jugs of lager whilst their offspring ransacked the place, screamed, shouted, threw chips around and generally rampaged around the hall for the duration of the bingo game. Even when the parents tried to get little Kylie, Chardonnay, Tyler or Tyson to behave the little darlings just laughed, and ran off squealing louder. Which was nice. How we laughed.

But my partner wouldn't forgive me if I didn't mention our favourite thing.....the man on the gate and in his dedication to duty. He had one reason for being....stopping guests smuggling in extras without paying. It was like WW11 films, you know when the delightfully twee newly married lady, waits with her equally quaint friend on a hilltop counting the planes in. "But Edna, four went out.....but only three came in. Where's darling Johnny?". Apart from in this case he was checking the car to see if we had any one hidden under a blanket in the boot. Frightening. We did offer to put 4 Bulgarian economic migrants up for a couple of nights......but the declined, having found a nicer skip in town.

  • Liked — The amazing feeling of relief as we drove out of the gates
  • Disliked — The horrific dmp smell
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

booked this family holiday with pontins. the holiday should have cost 1350.00 but we got a discount of 350.00 for a family of six for 2 weeks.
when we arrived at the camp it did look ok from the entrance we went to reception to recieve our keys etc.
we went down to the chaley which was a budget one and with great regrets what a shamble it was.
it was totally something out of this world something i found quite discusting.
1 bedroom had mould growing up the walls the carpets were so badly smelling it was a nightmare from hell.
we went back to reception but it was closed .
next day i went back up and explained to the manger that i was not happpy etc etc. he said he would get it sorted as there was no where else avalible he gave us compensation of 40 pontins pounds which was a insult.
if we hadnt of travelled as far as we did we would of went back home to the north.
we spent the next 2 weeks out of the camp at all times.
i would never ever go back there again not in a million years.
the enterain,ment was not what it was made out to be,it was rubbish.
they even had a show one night where a man was putting fire down his throat this i found not good as there was a lot of young children there.
what i have wrote is true to my word.as a good parent i was sorry to take my children into a place like this...
i holiday in cornwall this i can advise to anyone to go to...pontins is a dump....
i was not the only one who though this....

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the smell and the way the place was
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

Booked this as a cheap weekend break with The Sun's £15 hols. Despite what the previous reviewer says not all Sun readers are beer-beliied tatood trouble makers :)

We arrived at 3pm and were told to park on the 'overflow car park' which turned out to be a muddy field. We were shocked to say the least when we saw what appeared to be a row of sheds - these were the budget apartments. We peeked through the windows while we were waiting to check in (which we weren't allowed to do until 4pm) and we were dreading going inside. To our pleasant surprise when we checked in we were told that we had been upgraded free of charge from budget to classic. When we actually got to our shed and walked in we thought we had literally walked into a garden shed -the smell was appalling damp and musty. We had a one-bed apartment which consisted of a reasonable kitchen (though the knob on the electric oven was useless because the dial just spun round so you couldn't even set the temperature. The bathroom was disgusting with missing tiles replaced by plain cheap white ones which, in the grout, were caked with dirt. There is an escape hatch in the bathroom ceiling which is covered with a plastic grill and full of spiders right above the toilet (it was actually a sky light). The shelf above the sink was falling off the wall. Onto the living room...this consisted of the most uncomfortable sofa bed ever which smelled as though it had been kept in a basement for years. There was a tiny twelve inch tv on the wall which you often find yourself hitting your head off. Located just below it (almost in the kitchen) is an electric heater. The dining table looked like it had come from a 1920s school exam room and so did the chairs! The bedroom was small and had a light shining in all night which cannot be switched off. The worst thing about this place was the smell and the dampness of everything inside it. We brought four air-fresheners and a bottle of Febreeze but the stink even managed to creep through that! We could not eat anything in this place.

We thought we'd explore the park a bit and had a baguette in the Conservatory restaurant which was quite nice. However when going into the main complex consisting of the small dark Queen Vic pub, a large dark entertainment room and two arcades the smell was there again and it was intolerable. The shop was OK being a Nisa Today it was quite reasonably priced and well-stocked. In view of the stink of this whole place we didn't dare try the take-away. We attempted to go into the swimming pool but the tiny changing rooms consisted of a few cubicles with shower curtains for everyone to get changed in and leave your belongings. No lockers! The info pack given to you on arrival says not to leave valuables in the shed/apartment so where are you supposed to put them when you go swimming??? The entertainment programme looked quite good but we couldn't stand the smell so we didn't try it out.

You can't park by the shed/apartment but there are car parks. The problem is that there's not enough and when you get an idiot in a Landrover taking up two spaces because they can't drive/park the thing then it's just a bit annoying; one night we had to park in the overflow muddy field and ended up with filthy shoes and jeans.

The area of Brixham, Paignton and Torquay is lovely but do not stay at this place. The prices charged by Pontins are ridiculous. If you do consider it, Wall Park is in a residential area - We would recomend asking one of the locals if you can sleep on the floor of their garage - probably more comfortable and will definitely smell better.

Wall Park summarised in one word - DUMP.

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

When you enter the holiday park it looks like a typical 1950's holiday camp with single storey rows of chalet blocks. Some of the chalets still have the old brown wooden fronts and, had we been put in one of those, would have turned around and gone home! We presume those were the 'Budget' chalets.

We 'upgraded' to a Classic chalet which basically meant that they were nearer to the entertainment centre and had upvc fronts, door and windows. Inside each chalet was identical - a very small living area with folding table and 4 blue plastic/metal school type chairs, a kitchen unit with sink and cupboard below and above and a cooker. Also in the living area was a sofa bed which was the only double bed in the chalet. To the left of the living area was a small twin bedded room with little wardrobe and to the right of the living area was a single bedded room and a shower room.

The kids had their own bedrooms and we slept on the sofa bed - in order to open it out you have to fold away the table and stack the chairs or there is no room. There is just about room then to walk past the end of the bed by the kitchen cupboards but be careful not to crack your head on the tv which is on the wall - you have to bend at an angle to get past it when the bed is out.

The shower room was averagely clean - toilet and sink looked fine. The shower had mold around the tray and door. Remember to switch off the cooker or the shower wont work (as we found out!).

The kitchen equipment such as pans etc were still coated in what looked like mashed potato and the tea pot was full of mold where it had obviously been put away with water still in it.

The chalet smelt very musty and the bedding felt damp each night despite the electric heaters being on. (We went in October)

The staff at the holiday park all work extremely hard. The same staff can be seen serving in the restaurant etc then put on a show late into the evening. They were enthusiastic and all were helpful and friendly. The quality of the entertainment was good although some people apparently sat in the entertainment room from 10am to reserve a seat!! It was very difficult to get a seat when we got there at 8pm. The blue coats' Beauty and the Beast show was very good. It was all very child friendly but equally there was something on in the pub too for adults.

The only restaurant served decent, if predictable, food and it wasn't expensive - the roast (carvery) was very good value and the chef is a great character.

Without meaning to sound snobby, Pontins' clientele was pretty much as we expected - tattoos and beer bellies and that's just the women! The only time we ventured into the Queen Vic pub on site we saw a bouncer stopping one woman from having a fight, crying her eyes out, and another woman smash a pint of beer on the floor - all in the space of 5 minutes! It may be because it was during the Sun newspaper £8 deals - that's Sun readers for you! ;-)

Overall, the kids really enjoyed it and we enjoyed it because we were with our best friends in the next chalet so we all had a laugh but I wouldn't stay at Pontins Wall Park again unless they replaced the accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wall Park Holiday Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wall Park Holiday Centre

Address: Wall Park Road, Brixham TQ5 9UG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Brixham
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Wall Park Holiday Centre Hotel Brixham
Wall Park Holiday Centre Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wall Park Holiday Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.