We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quayside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quayside Hotel to your Saves list
Quayside Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   King St., Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was a bit surprised that on Arrival the parking was such a distance from the Hotel. this meant rearranging luggage in order to have what we needed for one night, or the alternative of taking everything up to a room through a series of stairs and corridors.

the room and Service was adequate and the breakfast good. the views are nice but the extra cost for this is heavy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    140
    38
    17
    8
See reviews for
31
200
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just got back from staying here for four nights. We had a great time. The staff are lovely in the hotel and restaurant,they cant do enough for you. Our room on the top floor had a beautiful view of the harbour,though the stairs are steep so not really for the unfit. There is so much to do and see in the area it was a perfect base for a lovely long weekend. I would definitely go back to quayside hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was 26. beautiful views but the stairs are not for the faint hearted!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in the supposedly "luxurious" room with a four poster room for 3 nights. It was dusty, dated decor, no bath robes and had MDF furniture, not quite the luxurious experience described on the website and certainly not worthy of paying £149/night. We stayed with our 2 three year old children and really struggled with them sleeping on old metal camp beds, narrow stairs/passageways and having to walk up the hill to the car park, not to mention trying to get them to sleep with the loud music that came from the bar below and went on until 11.30pm.
The best thing about this hotel is the view of the Quayside, but don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep. It's in desperate need of some money spending on it to bring it into this century.

Room Tip: Not suitable for anyone with small children or elderly people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quaysidehotel, Owner at Quayside Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are disappointed that you felt so unhappy with your stay as we went out of our way to accommodate you at short notice over a very busy August Holiday period.

We were unable to offer a family room as they were all pre-booked. We knew, and advised you, that the room provided, our only available room, would not be ideal for 2 adults and 2 children, however, we offered to move furniture and provide Z beds in order to accommodate you. We do not normally accept children unless pre booked into family suitable rooms and in retrospect we should have turned you away, but instead we tried to help. The August Holiday period is bound to be noisy around the harbour, we do stop our Sunday night bar music at 11.30pm and we apologise that you were not warned; however we have not had noise complaints from your room in the past. Your other comments “dusty” - we have noted and asked housekeeping to check, “dated“ - it is not intended to be modern, this is an eighteenth century cottage hotel, “no bath robes” - if you had informed reception they would have rectified the oversight, “MDF” - the furniture is mostly solid oak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years and every time we go we know that we will have a lovely time. The staff are so helpful and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the harbour, we had such a beautiful view both day and night.
The room was very comfortable and light with crisp white linen on the bed. The stairs are fairly steep and this could be a problem for some people.
Breakfast was lovely, there was a buffet table with cereals, juice and fruit.This was followed by a hot English breakfast containing some of the best bacon, black pudding and sausage I have tasted in a long time. I also tried the poached haddock and eggs-again really delicious!
In the evening we went to the small bar whilst we decided what we would eat in the restaurant. There was a good choice of dishes all beautifully cooked and served, again the view across the harbour was just beautiful. We then had coffee and brandy in the lounge served by really lovely, helpful staff.
We ate in the restaurant every night because the food and service was just excellent and too good to miss. Although the car park is a short walk away, we were glad to have the exercise to walk off all our superb meals.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are a little smaller but the view is more than worth it! Do try the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff. The room was clean but a little old fashioned and the climb to the room could prove difficult for some and the car park is a bit of a distance. These minor negatives are more than made up for by the wonderful view of the bay. The Ernie Lister bar is a gem,great live music and a really relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious,I had the smoked haddock with poached eggs, thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked long weekend here at Quayside hotel - room 8, bedroom more than adequate, lovely large bathroom area too and small balcony, with an amazing view of the harbour.
Breakfast every morning was super, staff very efficient and breakfast choices were plentiful.
Couple of pubs had entertainment of the evening which was great, and the bar adjoining the hotel had a group singing Sunday Eve, again nice touch.
Overall a very relaxing, warm and friendly stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is fantastic, rooms, staff, food was all great. Definitely stay again. The breakfast was all you could want and the friendliest of staff. The location was ideal the rooms were lovely and comfortable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quayside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quayside Hotel

Address: King St., Brixham TQ5 9TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quayside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quayside overlooks Lyme Bay and is a short walk to Brixham town centre, the Marina and beautiful coastal paths. Public areas include a comfortable lounge, an intimate and award winning restaurant, a cosy resident's bar and a traditional public bar with great bar food. Full of character and charm, the hotel has been expertly developed from 6 period fisherman's cottages. Enjoy the atmosphere, but don't get lost in the quirky corridors and winding stairs that make our friendly Hotel so distinctive. Wi Fi Internet access is available throughout the Hotel and we have a free private car park approx 350 yards from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quayside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quayside Hotel Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quayside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.