We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Touch of Carribean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verna's Pepper Shack

Verna's Pepper Shack
No 1 The Strand, Brixham TQ5 8EH, England
+44 1803 882978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 89 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Barbecue, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brixham's harbour-side restaurant offers Trinidadian Verna's native Caribbean cuisine alongside great local ribs & home-made steak burgers, local seafood and fun desserts. Carnival favourites Goat Curry, Saltfish & Ackee and Jerk Chicken take pride of place among a number of home-grown recipes - Trinidad Chicken & King Prawn Curry, Pineapple Pork, Legendary Lamb Shank and Shack Scallop & Monkfish Curry. Jerk Pork Skewers, Seafood Tart and San Fernando Spicy Prawns appear amongst the starters along with Patties, Monkfish Goujons, Home-made Samosas and Scallops & Hogs. We use local fish in a number of seafood dishes including Fish Bites and battered Catch-of-the-Day. Vegetarians are offered Pumpkin Patties and Goat Cheese Samosas among the starters, followed by Sweet Potato & Black Bean Curry, Chilli sin Carne and even Jamaican Jerk Tofu. Home-made Chocolate Gateau, Banana Cake, Sticky Toffee Pudding, Banoffee Pie, Morgan-spiced Rum Panacotta are complemented by Ice Cream, Sorbets and Fresh Pineapple. For children, there are home-made Chicken Nuggets, Spaghetti Bolognese and more Ice Cream. Pepper Shack is fully licensed until midnight with Red Stripe, Peroni, local Dartmoor and Bays ales, Healey's Cornish Ciders, wines from around the world and a wide range of rums among the spirits. We also offer an extensive Cocktail Menu and even some Ice Cream Liquour Cocktails
Brixham
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Touch of Carribean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went to Vernas last friday with family and thorougly enjoyed the experience, some really good tastes. Waitress was very friendly.(Beth)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding as I've been away for a week.

Glad you enjoyed the visit and hope we'll be able to entertain you again. I'll give Beth an extra star for "service with a smile" ... as we we try to make the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    38
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

First time visit to Brixham and found this restaurant almost by mistake. The ground floor entrance did not do justice to the excellent atmosphere and food on offer on the first floor level. It was a pleasant surprise to find such a great place in a small harbour town. I agree the owner was very attentive and friendly. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I hope you enjoyed Brixham itself - it's certainly full of character ... and indeed characters. Definitely worth a return trip, I would have thought!

There's not so much we can do about the entrance ... maybe a new carpet later in the year, haha. In way, though, it's quite nice to be surprised by what lies upstairs ... with a view straight out onto the harbour.

Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Refreshing change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a very memorable meal indeed. I thoroughly enjoyed my monkfish gougons to start, and my jerk chicken as main. The atmosphere at Verna's is very good, everyone seems happy and friendly. Nice surroundings, furnishings and fittings. It was very busy on the evening that we went, and it was interesting to see other peoples meals as the staff were serving them. Three out of four other people who I went with enjoyed their meals, the fourth one wasn't so keen. Oh well. It was great to have something different in town, and I for one will certainly go back. Think next time I'll have to ask if they'll do the monkfish gougons as a main meal, I enjoyed it so much. Here's hoping.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
"Monkfish Goujons" as a main - no problem - worry no more!

Thanks for a very positive and comprehensive review. It does get a pretty lively on a busy night, but that really is the fun of it.

Sorry your 5th member wasn't so happy. As you saw, we have a pretty good range from local fish through great steaks to various spicy dishes from mild spicy to hotter. Maybe next time, haha.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Yet another first class evening at the Pepper Shack. It was no problem that the three of us had not booked - the welcome from the staff was as warm and inviting as the restaurant (a far cry from the views of a previous scathing reviewer) Having dined here a few times before, it was good to see some enticing additions to the menu such as moruga beef, ackee and saltfish but the old favourites - curried goat, chicken and king prawn curry and cumin rotis - remain just that! Tried the monkfish goujons and spicy prawns as an appetiser, both to be recommended.As usual, there was some good banter and humour with the ever-ebullient "mine host" John and with other diners. We even got our music requests played. In all a cracking evening. We walked out into a cold night fully satisfied with a warm glow and a smile on our faces.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thanks for a sparkling review. It's nice to be able to put a smile on faces, even in mid-Winter.

We'll continue to make adjustments to the menu but keep the current favourites. It seems to be about right as we serve from all parts of the menu. There should be Marsala Mutton coming during this week.

I can't guarantee that we'll always play requests - the Honeycombs aren't to everyone's taste - but we do our best. I'm just grateful that we didn't need that tissue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Superb quick service with attentive staff . Owner very friendly and helpful. Amazing tasty food. You must visit it as soon as possible. Well done Pepper Shack

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShackTalk, General Manager at Verna's Pepper Shack, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Woo - it looks like we're making progress with the service, haha!

There are busy times when we ask for a little patience to catch up but we certainly do our best. We should soon have a new hi-tech ordering system which will help.

Thanks for a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verna's Pepper Shack also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Verna's Pepper Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verna's Pepper Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.