We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a visit beside the water ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claws

Claws
The Quay, Brixham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 88 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
south devon
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit beside the water ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good food , and you wont be hungry ! what better scenery .... Jenny will make you most welcome, as will her "girls"

seafood platter is great , also "prawn cocktail" and crab .... ( also try "CLAWS INSIDE" ) owned also by jenny , just across the road ....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“stunning seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

had a massive seafood salad (for two) shared with my 4yr old who tried it all for the first time and loved it very well presented extremely friendly staff as I had my 10 month old with me who cant eat shell fish yet I asked if it would be ok to get some food from the chip shop and sit at the table with me and my son as my husband is also not keen on sea food there was no problem the view of the harbour is wonderful and I would recommend anyone in brixham do not walk pass without sampling something from here as it is delicious next time I am visiting devon I will be sure to come back to claws

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I visited Brixham during the last week. I am a seafood lover so Claws was the first place we visited but disappointingly for an East End boy they did not have any jellied Eels.
There cabin promotes jellied eels but we were told they sold out last week. We had some rollmop and cockles ( cockles not as good as Leigh on Sea) and then moved on. Shame our first experience was soured

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeaveley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Crab Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I made a brief visit to Brixham during a recent trip to Devon. Since the sun was shining and it was lunchtime we decided to have lunch overlooking the harbour. We tried to get a table at the Claws eating area on the quay side but it was very busy and we were told that it was not possible to reserve a table. This was very disappointing and when we were about to leave we were pointed towards Claws Inside . The first appearance was that the place was fairly basic , witth simple rustic tables but we were assured that the food was superb. And they were right !! We were a little torn between crab salad an moules mariniere so we ordered one of each. The friendly waitress suggested that since the portions were so large we might like to have the salad as a starter to share and if we were still hungry we could have the mussels. She was absolutely right - the salad was huge with dressed crab, a large pile of peeled prawns and slices of smoked salmon plus greek salad, coleslaw, potato salad an bread and butter. More than enough for 2 and costing just £13.95. We never had the mussels but will definitely try them on our next visit to Brixham !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Claws indoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really lovely fish salad and beautifully presented, we very much enjoyed our meal overlooking the harbour .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claws also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Claws? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claws, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.