We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Traditional Hotel in Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Berry Head Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Berry Head Hotel to your Saves list
The Berry Head Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Brixham
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Traditional Hotel in Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just arrived back from a four day break at the Berry Head Hotel. This lovely hotel is very traditional, full of character and has a very comfortable feel about it. Our room was double aspect with amazing sea views, bed was large and comfortable. We were, however, disappointed with the food served in the main restaurant, the menu was very limited and we had the same menu for three of the four evenings. The food was only average. One member of staff particularly made us feel uncomfortable in the restaurant, he just generally didn't seem bothered. He would stretch in front of us to collect dishes whilst we were still eating, at breakfast the teapot was overfilled and when I said to him that we were having a problem with it, he laughed and walked away. It was a relief when the third day was his day off. When this was mentioned to Reception Staff on leaving I was shocked to discover he was the Restaurant Manager!! I would however, make the point that the rest of the staff both in the restaurant, bar and reception were all a credit to the hotel. We would only consider staying there again on a bed and breakfast basis and then eat in the bistro.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    79
    59
    37
    17
See reviews for
84
155
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is without a doubt our favourite place to eat, drink and relax on Torbay. Their front of house team go above and beyond to accommodate the silliest of requests, and will cater to your every whim.

We frequently enjoy meals in the bistro style eating areas, as well as the a la carte restaurant (for when we're feeling a bit posh)!

Have recently made us of the dip and dine which is very good value, and you pay £10 and get £10 to use towards food, which is where most other places catch you out.

Overall you can tell the family who run the hotel have a genuine sense of care for what they do, which is filtered through the staff. Their menus boast the use of fresh local produce which you can definitely taste!

Would recommend either the fish pie, or Brixham's best fish and chips from the bistro menu!!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A charity fundraising unique lecture was given in the lovely 'Mulberry Room' last Monday.
It was a sell out with the full capacity audience of 190 seated very comfortably and the sound system and digital projection were excellent.
The cash bar and Bistro food and service, before and after, were first class with all the staff, from Reception onwards , cheerful and proactively helpful at all times.
During the weeks leading up to the event Lucinda Chamings [ the experienced and very helpful general manager] and her team were very keen to provide whatever was needed and her advice was invaluable thus making life easy for the organisers.
For a special event the Berry Head Hotel could not be bettered.

Room Tip: Not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brixham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family were so pleased with the Funeral Reception for fifty plus people on Monday. The food and drinks were excellent and the staff could not have been nicer. Thanks to all concerned for their efforts .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorlton-cum-Hardy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Enjoyed a delicious sunday lunch carvery on 2nd February with friends. Squeaky fresh vegetables, well roasted meats, tasty gravy. One vegetarian in our party, and one who chose from the specials board menu. Everything co-ordinated by our waitress expertly, and kitchen prepared courses arrived as we gathered our carvery dinners. A cold and windy day on this occasion, but the views and outside seating areas would be breathtaking in the warmer summer months. Dog friendly in the bar area too. We will definately be returning for a second helping

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Recently held a fundraiser at Berry Head and the hotel manageress and her staff were outstanding! The manageress went out of her way to help us and even donated a prize for our fundraiser. Staff were pleasant and friendly, very helpful and the food was very good too!!
The hotel is beautiful and the room of the event,was everything and more than we expected. I would highly recommend this hotel and they certainly get 10/10 from us!!
Mr and Mrs.Holt

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Decided to celebrate the new year at the buffet dance which was £65 per head. We attended last year and it was very very good, food brilliant, cloakroom very good received tickets when leaving coats and handed tickets in to collect coats.
Unfortunately when we returned this year not good at all, the food however was excellent, the band, very noisy, the base was so high it vibrated drinks on the table and no we were not sat right beside the band. We stayed to see the new year in and left as soon as we could get a taxi, having taken up seats in the library area to get away from the noise.. The music was no where near as good as last year and even though we mentioned it to staff nothing was done re the base. When we came to collect our coats it was a free for all, we had not been given tickets although we asked several times, but the young lady taking the coats just kept telling us to get tickets for the room at the desk! Totally misunderstood we were asking for coat tickets, consequently coats were all over the floor etc as people were just knocking them off hangers looking for theirs as there were no staff manning the cloakroom. In all a disappointing night, won't be going next year. Staff were very young but friendly, seemed as though they had manned the night with young students.

Room Tip: We did not stay the night as stayed with friends in the area. They do say usually it is very good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Berry Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berry Head Hotel

Address: Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Berry Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and set in 6 acres of gardens and woodland, nestling at the waters edge with stunning panoramic views across Torbay. Fresh local produce and fish direct from Brixham Trawlers. An informal Brasserie and a more formal restaurant are available together with comfortable Bars and Lounges. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and outdoor salt water tidal pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Berry Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Head Hotel
Berry Head Brixham
The Berry Head Hotel Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Berry Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.