We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas variety” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lytehouse

The Lytehouse
39 Fore Street | in pedestrian area of town, Brixham TQ5 8AA, England
01803 411677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: English, Tapas, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tapas variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a lovely find this was whilst visiting Brixham for an extended weekend. Reserved a table as it was the Saturday following Valentines Day and not knowing the area wanted to make sure we had somewhere to eat. On booking we were asked did we mind that "Colin" would be playing live music, which was not a problem to us, but it was a nice touch to be asked. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, even though we were a good 15 minutes early and given a choice of several tables. Then came the difficult choice, what to have, as there was more than enough variety along with local produce. We decided that little and often would be the way to go and what a good decision. the food was excellent and all in all we had a great evening. Yes Colin was very good as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Since moving to Brixham we have wined and dined with pleasure at the Lytehouse a number of times, evenings and lunchtimes. This is a friendly, well run restaurant with, in the evenings, a mainly tapas menue. We over-ordered on our first visit and ended up with far more generous helpings than would be found at a regular Spanish restaurant. The quality of their evening dishes is excellent - and so are the lunches. Their bacon, brie and cranberry tostie I have nominated for UN recognition. The Lytehouse also offers music and comedy evenings that are much to be welcomed, especially on these chilly winter nights. We are fortunate in living within walking distance of the Lytehouse so sampling their wine list is not a problem.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Don't be put off by the slightly tired café-look, the food and service is really excellent. The Tapas is amazing. This place clearly punches above it's weight when it comes to food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited on Friday attracted by the intriguing tapas menu and live music.
The food was really good with generous portions, beautifully spiced and presented quite quickly. It's not a Spanish restaurant but the Tapas was brill. The live music was a guy with a sax and some background music. Simple, effective and much better than musac.

By day it is a typical cafe and on a recent visit the coffee was pretty good as well. Fairly priced with great service, add this to your visit list.

Situated on Fore Street can be a disadvantage as it is away from the main Brixham restaurants however in recent months a couple of new cafe/restaurants have opened with alfresco eating so it should be good news for Lytehouse

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“foodie wandering in Devon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Situated in one of the main streets just off the harbour, we went in here for the sole reason of enjoying a crab sandwich in Brixham a place known for centuries for its fishing industry. The sandwiches came with salad and a nutty flavour to the fresh bread. The water carafe had slices of lemon/line added and the lady who served us was attentive and helpful even to he extent of providing a box to take home half a sandwich which could not be managed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lytehouse also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Lytehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lytehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.