We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lytehouse

The Lytehouse
39 Fore Street | in pedestrian area of town, Brixham TQ5 8AA, England
01803 411677
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 77 restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: English, Tapas, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Iondon
1 review
“Top Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Completely agree with other reviews, great food and service in this small and intimate restaurant. Best tapas I have ever had and would recommend to all visitors to Brixham !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    43
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“french pavement cafe in brixham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having returned from France only last week and strolling down this main shopping street we likened the tables outside this excellent restaurant to the one of the pavement cafe's we had so enjoyed over there.

Seating ourseves in the sunshine at one of their jolly looking tables, all clean and tidy so lacking in some places, we looked at the wine list and chose a nice pinot at a very nice price. So then seated with our wine poured we perused the menu soon to realise we were missing a chance of a decent lunch as we were, due to an evening arrangement, only looking for a snack. Ordering a toasted ham and cheese toasty we were delighted when it arrived bursting with filling, hand cut ham and cheese just at that proper melting point as it should and the hand cut bread crispy. Obviously prepared by a chef who knows and even more importantly cares the plate included a delicious well dressed accompanying little side salad garnish.

A great spot for people watching we enjoyed the plate and the ambience and in finishing realised we had been more than satisfied by our "snack". A good interesting menue should draw all sorts for day and evening ...... it will certainly do that for us ....... do not pass without investigation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

this is a top place to go, amazing quality and value, we eat there regularly. Lunchtime Spanish omlette is a must and steak bagette awesome and the evening Tapas is better than I've had in Spain, how they make a profit I don't know because portions are huge! Give it a go you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Sadly, we didn't visit the Lytehouse until the last day of our holiday. We would certainly have paid a few more visits if we had known how good the food was. Between us we had the tuna-filled jacket potato (massive potato, plenty of tuna filling), the steak sandwich (tender steak, lovely onions and mushrooms too) and a Devon cream tea (the calories are well worth it!)
If you find yourself in Brixham, this is the place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by today for a quick coffee. We were visiting the Fishstock festival. We had four coffees and we asked for a frothy milk for our two year old. This was not on menu but they served it regardless. All brought out together and a lovely temperature.
Nice cup of coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lytehouse also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Lytehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lytehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.