We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value of the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises

Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises
13 The Quay, Brixham TQ5 0ES, England
01803 882 811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Activities in Brixham
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises is the home of WW2 Heritage Ship Fairmile and nine other sea and river boats offering a fantastic array of boat trips, excursions and ferry services in the English Riviera and beautiful River Dart.With offices based at Princess Pier Torquay, the Quay Brixham, the boat float Dartmouth and at Greenway Quay on the edge of the serene River Dart, we offer the largest variety of award winning green marine transportation links in the South West. In 2010 Greenway Ferry where awarded Visit Britain’s Quality Visitor Attraction award.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best value of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wife and myself visited Brixham the day after the main holidays, 7th September, we went on the bus and decided to come back on the Greenway ferry, a nice finish to the day, loved the new landing stage really better for the disabled. Had a lovely chat with one of the crew who filled us in about the Ferry history. Was so helpful and considerate and a pleasure to travel with them. Value!!!! Excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    34
    10
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great value for money, weather a bit breezy but trip good, went from brixham to Dartmouth, did'nt wait long for boat either way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AVOID if you have a baby!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I took my best friend and his 11month old baby on this trip from Brixham to Torquay and was horrified to be charged for a ticket for the baby! What a disgrace!!! Thankfully we returned with the Western Lady ferry which was a nicer boat; nicer staff and under 5s travel free. The fares are cheap, but you still shouldn't have to pay for a baby!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillnRoss, Manager at Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. If your baby like any other passenger in an emergency needed a lifejacket would you rather we not carry lifejackets for infants? I find it a disgrace that you would find paying a £1 nominal fare an issue. Fare's between Torquay and Brixham on the ferry are only £1 and you find that a disgrace. How odd! When baby's come with prams our staff help and carry push chairs on and off our vessels and support mothers and fathers. I am astounded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“On the crest of a wave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We did the Brixham to Dartmouth trip, with a one hour river cruise, and 2 hours in Dartmouth returning to Brixham. The cost was £10 per person. The boat left at 11.30am (we were a bit confused as which boat to board) but once we were seated we sat back and enjoyed the ride. Plenty of commentary along the way along with a good bit of humor added. Once we got to Dartmouth we stayed on the same boat for the river cruise, which was interesting. When we got back to Dartmouth harbour we got off and had 2 hours to wander around. My mother is 80 and she found it no problem getting on and off the boat. We found our return boat easily at this harbour for the return trip and it left on time. We saw dolphins coming out of the harbour and seals on the way back. Our group of 3 found this to be a thoroughly good day out and excellent value. We told all our friends about it. We will be going again next summer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Mackerel Fishing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was the only passenger on this fishing trip. Mike the skipper was great finding where the fish were. We ended up getting a decent catch. all in all an excellent mornings fishing

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.