We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip and very competent crew” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises

Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises
13 The Quay, Brixham TQ5 0ES, England
01803 882 811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Activities in Brixham
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises is the home of WW2 Heritage Ship Fairmile and nine other sea and river boats offering a fantastic array of boat trips, excursions and ferry services in the English Riviera and beautiful River Dart.With offices based at Princess Pier Torquay, the Quay Brixham, the boat float Dartmouth and at Greenway Quay on the edge of the serene River Dart, we offer the largest variety of award winning green marine transportation links in the South West. In 2010 Greenway Ferry where awarded Visit Britain’s Quality Visitor Attraction award.
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great trip and very competent crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were on the 'Fairmile' from Torquay to Dartmouth. The skipper pre-warned us it was going to be a bit choppy ! Rest assured this cracking vintage boat was more than capable of riding the strong groundswell and the skipper carefully selected best passage for the most passenger comfort. Theses guys are under siege from a price war with their local Dart competitor so it is essential that you support them to the hilt otherwise there could be a monopoly with the associated big price hikes. I would highly recommend this efficient, courteous and caring operator. The 'Fairmile' is a living / breathing legend so don't miss it if you are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    34
    10
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great trip and only £1 each way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took a family trip from Torquay to Brixham and wow what great value £1 each way and the kids where free
This company is top quality and very friendly, it was quiet choppy as there was an easterly wind and the captain said we would get a little wet if we sat at the front of the boat and the kids laughed all the way as we got sea sprayed
Thanks to greenway we had a great trip and fantastic value

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fairmile Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great day out. Caught the Fairmile from Torquay to Dartmouth. Commentary all the way to Dartmouth, really interesting and music on the way back. Even saw some seals. All the crew were lovely with good sense of humour. Great value £7.50 each for a lovely day out. We had a group of OAP's on the Boat, some with motor scooters and wheelchairs and the crew were fantastic with everyone.Would definitely recommend the Fairmile.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ferrys from Brixham to Dartsmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tried both ferries from Brixham to Dartsmouth and Greenways staff and boat were in a different league. Exerlent staff and the Fairmile was a brilliant boat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Boat trip from Dartmouth to Greenway (National Trust) and back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nice, boat, and the weather was nice. The Dart Estuary is absolutely beautiful, and the half hour trip (each way) was delightful. No commentary on the first leg, but there was on the way back and (what we could hear of it) was very interesting - the history of places we were passing and so on. The boat has light refreshments and loos for those who need them!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenway Ferry & Pleasure Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.