We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beamers Restaurant

Beamers Restaurant
19 The Quay, Brixham TQ5 8AW, England
01803 854 777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Brixham
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Extremely good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had an early meal a couple of days ago - such fresh fish, cooked extremely well. The seafood starter to share was excellent and the fish and chips some of the best I've ever had. The monkfish with clams and samphire was delicious.

Sophie the Maitre'd and the waitresses provided excellent service too.

A meal to remember.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    89
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Petherton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Only bad experience in Brixham (Dining)Solo/O.A.P.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having now given some thought on visit 4 weeks ago, I booked for dinner @ 7 p.m.on arrival told window tables only available if vacated by 8.15.(leisurely meal in mind) I took small table in centre of room set for two o.k.but would expect one setting to be removed (no).Ordered whitebait followed by skate wing and a bottle of chablis excellent,the food however was not whitebait looked like stubs of pencils all 3ins.long/strait and covered in orange bread crumbs (rock hard) needless to say only ate 4 or 5 leaving very bad taste ,not asked reason why not eaten or offered alternative stater,I therefore requested bill for wine paid for same explained food not up to standard and left. VERY DISAPPOINTED. Think I suffered from mild food poisioning for 10 day after will not go there again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RUGBY, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, as always.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have visited Beamers many times now, a trip to Brixham wouldn't be the same without reserving a table overlooking the harbour. The staff are as pleasant as ever and the service was quick considering the place was full. The food was very good, our thanks and compliments to the chef.
The only down side is that it does seam to be getting quite expensive to eat there these days.

My thanks also go to the chap on the table behind us for keeping the whole restaurant informed of his social plans by making not one but three calls on his mobile. Pure class!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very very good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had the whole sea bass, it was large enough to satisfy my rather substantial appetite and I couldn't find any evidence that this fish ever had a skeleton! Superbly prepared and presented. I would highly recommend Beamers to anyone who likes their seafood, this was easily the best fish I have ever eaten.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, portions far too large”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had pate and goujons for starters: both well-prepared and tasty, For mains we had monkfish - a portion that would easily have fed two, and the scallops, mussels and crevettes. By the time we had waded our way through it all, we had no space left for a dessert. The food was all well-executed, but they need to understand that they don't need to provide enough calories in one meal for two days to satisfy their customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beamers Restaurant also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to Beamers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beamers Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.