We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We said we would return to Riviera Bay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brixham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviera Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Riviera Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
Mudstone Lane, Brixham TQ5 9EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We said we would return to Riviera Bay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Just back from Riviera Bay for the third time in 12 months for a week,had a great time,was roasted in the Tropicana Club,NO air con or fans to circulate the air,even team 2012(not as good as team 2011,not the variety) found it very warm indeed! Chalets now have showers and bath,new front doors fitted(door step very high indeed) and clean and tidy!! Beds need sorting!! Food no probs there,good value etc,drinks are dearer than my local pubs! We enjoyed ourselves in the evenings,plenty of entertainment for all ages!! Day trips in car to Cornwall and the moors no probs!! Will be re booking again for this year,but not during school holidays ,a huge price hike for us,and we get/want nothing extra for the increase,WHY,we are 2 OAPs,not a large family with rug rats in tow??lol A lot of whinging Sun holiday makers on Tripadvisor??

Room Tip: OAPs stay away when school hols have started!! Price rise is massive with nowt extra for the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    165
    104
    69
    142
See reviews for
326
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have just returned from the park .On my arrival my immediate thought was to turn around and go home The bronze accomadation was awful it was dated smelt of damp and was shabby throughout the apartment.Did have a laugh at the electrics which gave you a choice of having the heating on or the cooker and the rip in the curtains did come in handy to check the weather without drawing them back. I would also add that the seagulls nesting on the roof did not cause us any problems but they might be noisy when the chicks hatch Shame really because the rest of the park was good it had helpful staff good entertainment and a good locatation.
However I will not be returning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at most of the holiday parks around Devon area, got to say this is one I would probably not return to, much prefer Landscove up the road, stayed there 4 times. People saying you get what you pay for, well I have paid less in the past & had much better places than this one.
I paid £135 for the weekend, that was including a upgrade to silver 2 bed Chalet.

Bad Points:-
* Chalet was dirty, rubbish in bedrooms, hairs everywhere! Dusty, ants live in kitchen on worktops! Yuk! (put all food in wall cupboards)
* You can't park anywhere near you Chalet, you have to wait for a trolley to be returned to carpark, none there when we arrived, so much hassle with children & lots of luggage! Thankgod it wasnt raining!
* No bed linen when we arrived, had to
chase it up at reception.
* Disgusting smell in kitchen, turned out to be something in microwave, so oviously hadn't been cleaned or checked.
* Stood by door as we arrived & counted 26 "fag" butts immedietly outside Chalet.

Good Points:-
* Could not fault the staff, very friendly helpful in reception & in the club during the evenings.
* The set up of entertainment venue, reception, arcade, restaurant & shop is very good, all close together & clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just returned from cheap "Sun" holiday break . Have visited on a number of occasions when originally owned by Pontins and now part of Park Holidays empire . Initial aggravation over checking in procedure as Reception adamant that no keys would be handed out until 4.00pm despite chalet being available . They would let me pay £15 for an early check in after 2.00pm but I was not prepared to pay this surcharge as the holiday only cost £9.50 per person . The camp is split into two sections and was given a basic "bronze" chalet in upper part which is furthest from Clubhouse . Chalet was old but perfectly habitable but kitchen area a little crazy , primarily as result of a "boxed in" water boiler some 4ft 6in high which stood out where one would have expected to see a worktop .
Separate bedroom comprised a double bed base with two single duvets with plenty of storage in wardrobe but no hangers . TV had full range of freeview channels which was a bonus .
Camp is perfectly situated for walk down to Brixham although will test out your thigh muscles when having to walk back up the hill .
Evening entertainment is carried out in on site club and is provided by six staff entertainers and is good although never starts at the scheduled time . Half hour late on all 4 nights which is frustrating . A snooker/pool room has been created this year which is an added bonus . One snooker and one pool table with charge of £5 per hour . On site swimming pool good .
When walking around the grounds of the site it became apparent that around half of the lower part of the site has been demolished and is currently being redeveloped with large extensive bungalows , presumably to generate additional income as these Units will sell for around £100000 each . I suppose that this is a sign of the times as UK holiday parks continue to struggle .
Overall a cheap break but do not expect anything other that basic "no frills" accommodation and typical camp entertainment .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Got back today we as a family have been going to riviera bay for the last 10years ,we had a silver plus which was very clean and tidy lovely view staff very friendly entertainment team could not fault such a lovely team,have rebooked to go back in october.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We came to Rivera bay for a 4 day break the team were brill and made our stay very enjoyable they were very friendly it was my son and husbands birthday and they couldn't do enough for us thanku for a fab time guys love u all c u next year Sara u have a fab voice Kevin and Simon u r mad lol xxxx

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Having just returned from a "Sun £9.50" (which actually cost £116.00 in total) I felt I should give you an honest review of Riviera Bay Holiday Park near Brixham. Having read the reviews before I left I was concerned about what I was going to find and upgraded to a Silver Plus (thank goodness).
Reception - The staff were friendly.
The Chalet - was clean although very small (ok for a weekend) but I couldnt manage a week in there as the lounge/kitchen were all in one and with the sofabed made up it was even smaller. The bathroom was tiny and the bath was actually a shower cubicle.
Entertainment - Only ventured into Club Tropicana once and that was enough for me. If you have young kids or enjoy bingo then I am sure it's ok, just not my thing.
Restaurant - Was good for first night snack.

Didnt use the pool, but my daughter enjoyed the arcade.

Overall it was good for the weekend, my only real winge was that the car park is no where near the chalet so you have to load all your gear onto a trolley and then push it across to the accommodation (which isnt great when you have your own bedding at it's raining).

Visit Beamers Restaurant in Brixham the seafood is amazing - avoid Paignton (really gone downhill since the last time we were there)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Silver Plus - Row B have great views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Bay Holiday Park

Address: Mudstone Lane, Brixham TQ5 9EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Brixham
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic facilities including a great indoor pool, large entertainment venue, and popular restaurant help to make Riviera Bay the first choice for family fun holidays. And of course you’ll want to get out and explore the many attractions when you stay in this area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riviera Bay Holiday Park Hotel Brixham
Riviera Bay Holiday Park Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.