We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Does exactly what it says on the label"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakwater Bistro

The Breakwater Bistro
Berry Head Road, Brixham TQ5 9AF, England
01803 856738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 88 Restaurants in Brixham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Vegetarian, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Feneyrols, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Does exactly what it says on the label"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local. The menu states that the chef's aim was to provide simple food, locally sourced where possible and well cooked, and he managed exactly that. Despite being a very hot day I could not resist the steak and "Bay" ale pie - excellent, my wife chose the seafood platter, which was opulent but too good to waste, we took our time! We both thought that these meals were amongst the best we have sampled in a long while, and one of the cheapest, we finished with an excellent espresso coffee as good an any you will find on the continent, and a further bonus specatacular views over the bay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    162
    31
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and service, perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

An almost unique location and excellent food combine to make this a lovely experience. Reasonably priced local food and a wide range of alternatives ( for example, Spanish Chicken, Monkfish Curry or Sirloin steak ) mean that whatever your taste this Bistro has something for you. Then there's the view, which is perfect - you get the sunset over Brixham and Torbay, with views round Lyme Bay, almost as far as the Isle of Portland. Great place and very good, surprisingly fast service from enthusiastic staff. A short walk out of town, around the harbour and marina.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
606 helpful votes 606 helpful votes
“Whole lemon sole at its best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a lovely sunny day in Brixham. The Breakwater Bistro was humming with happy people. Our lunch today comprised the whole lemon sole special with salad and chips plus an order of their garlic mushrooms...delicious.
We also enjoyed the Devon Red cider and a bottle of sparkling water whilst taking in the perfect views across the bay.
For dessert we tried the lemon sponge with clotted cream and the Belgian waffle both of a substantial size but we were not in a rush so continued to take in the view whilst finishing them off.
As local residents it is great to see the bistro busy and today with the good weather and beach outside it was the perfect place for a lunch. We can recommend this bistro for the quality of food, service and reasonable pricing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sitting on the deck overlooking the water in the evening sun with a cool beer and a good steak - what could be better. We shared an ice cream desert and that was almost too much for the two of us!

Not a flash menu but honest food well prepared and delivered with fast and pleasant service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent meal well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are on holiday in Brixham for a week, looked on internet & read reviews picked here to eat today (sunday 7th). wow we had 2 seafood platter for 2 between 4 off us & i must say its the best seafood platter we have ever had. during our week stay we will be back at least once or twice to eat again. what a great place & very friendly staff. well done

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBreakwater, Manager at The Breakwater Bistro, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Glad you had a nice time... I do believe you had our Shellfish feast, which contains clams, mussels, crab claws & langoustine's... never the less glad you enjoyed it :) hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakwater Bistro also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Breakwater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakwater Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.