We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Smugglers Haunt

The Smugglers Haunt
Church Hill, Brixham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 83 Restaurants in Brixham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fab Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Have just spent an excellent two nights here as a spur of the moment visit booked by the wife.

Rooms were lovely, clean , spotless and comfortable after a 4.5 hour journey to get here how relaxing the beds were.

Managed there full breakfast and that set me up for the day.
Staff were very helpful and cheerful we tried to book a further night but they were fully booked by a golf club!! This must be a plus for the owners.

Will definitely go again and will try for a longer stay?..

Overall.. they tick all the right boxes

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still get the chills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is such a friendly restaurant with amazing food everyday. We came here on several occasions during our holiday and were impressed by the standard of the food. The service is very Quick and the staff are very friendly. Certainly willing to have a chat with you. This restaurant is out of the way a bit as it is not on the seafront but this means that it does not get noisy like the others sometimes do.

Many do believe that this hotel is haunted and it sure is to me! I always feel the chills in one particular spot and as I am only young I never sit alone....

Hope you enjoy your stay at the smugglers....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My mum & myself dropped in un-expectantly, we were waited on like royalty, fantastic food & service, would dine at this establishment again & again. Have already recommended to friends & family..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“carvery perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

probably the best carvery i have visited with perfect cauliflower cheese , the chef nige was very obliging and told the odd joke we took my 87 year old mother and she is still talking about the wonderful food and wants to visit again soon , the staff were very friendly and the portions were of a good size terrific value for money. give it a try next time you visit brixham

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First class local food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

For the third year in a row, we ate here and were really surprised the restaurant was so quiet.
Such a shame but there is a lot of competition around the harbour.

The food, wine and service was first class.

Will eat and drink there again next time.

Keep up the good work Jean and John.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers Haunt also viewed

Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 
Brixham, English Riviera
Brixham, English Riviera
 

Been to The Smugglers Haunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Smugglers Haunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.