We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harbour View to your Saves list
Harbour View
65 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Short Break Discount
Ranked #10 of 22 Brixham B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A fantastic guest house overlooking the harbour - just as it says! You are given a car parking space by the harbour, so no need to worry about that (which you do as you drive up a very steep hill towards the guesthouse). The owners are good hosts, the bedrooms clean and tidy and breakfast was a real treat.

We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    62
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
191
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

One of the best Guest HOuses I have ever stayed in for comfort, cleanliness and location, I cannot see how the place can be beaten value for money. Even get your own parking space on the harbour wall but make sure you put the car in reverse.

Room Tip: Top Floor Harbour View absolutely fantastic room and own bathroom across the corridor Very clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and I can say this B&B is all ypu could ask for, clean, friendly in the heart of Brixham with a fantastic view of the harbour from our window, room 102 . We had a great evening out in Brixham just a few doors away in a bar where we sang along to live a live act. Would love to go back and do it all again. Oh and you get a parking space which is always a bonus. This review is from someone who only likes staying in good quality hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Harbour View and was not disappointed, this is a B&B. that really stands out from the rest. Steve and Stuart really made us feel welcome, they can't do enough to make your stay special, really helpful. We couldn't fault the rooms at all, beautifully spotlessly clean with lovely comfortable bed,duvet and crisp white bedding. A nice touch is the fridge on the landing for the use of the guests, great to keep a bottle of wine and cold drinks in, also there is an ironing board and iron as well all together in one place should you need it. Glasses were put in our room as soon as it was noted we had a bottle with us, very thoughtful. Just across the road are a couple of benches that overlook the harbour, lovely to take a glass of something across with you in the evening and admire the wonderful view of the harbour. The breakfast has to be the best, as much or as little in any combination you want and all delicious, hot and beautifully presented, good choice of cereals and preserves as well. Unfortunately for us we had to cut our stay short due to my husbands mobility problems, Steve and Stuart helped all they could fetching and carrying our luggage and helping with the mobility scooter we had hired and we were sorry to have to leave, a personal thank you to you both. Brixham is a lovely place but anyone with mobility problems should be aware how hilly it is, we didn't realise how much, but don't regret the time spent at Harbour View and would recommend a stay here as a must whilst visiting Brixham, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

last minute one night booking, got top floor small SV double room for sole use with private bathroom. the owners were most helpful on arrival and took my bag early.

after 3 weeks in Greece recently for 20 euros a night B&B it is back to UK at almost £70pppn! LOL...
hey ho but harbourview has great location if you want to be in the heart of the harbour which suited me so was willing to pay for a view and the location.

room was small for 2 persons but quite fine for me alone. view amazing over harbour.
very clean, nice crisp linens and very quiet.

did not see much of the owners after arrival (they were VERY busy but did not get a chance much for a nice chat nor a goodbye except from the waiter (pleasant Spanish lad,)

the breakfast room was bright and spacious with 2 large sofas for relaxing on in the evening which was nice.
fresh flowers on tables and a vase of white lilies was also good.

decent English breakfast,
my only critique (apart from the price of UK B&B's getting higher and higher)
was pre-foil packed butter portions (yuk) and the sausages seemed like catering quality and not a locally sourced product...they maybe local but i really did not like them, horrible!

perhaps they had run out of butchers sausages and they had to get supermarket ones?
but if you do that at least get some decent ones.

i would have said all this to the owners personally but as mentioned above i didn't get to see them when i paid my bill and left...i did leave quite early before 10am so i guess they were busy to come out.

would def go back as it clean and comfy and suited my stay perfectly.

Room Tip: get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Habour View for the second time, first was last year when we really enjoyed our stay and happy to say that this year was just as good.Steve greeted us on arrival, Our room was up two flights of stairs, a bit tiresome but easy to come down! the view was'nt great but the room en suite and clean, who needs a view when all you need is a clean comfortable bed to sleep in after a day out. Breakfast was great as usual and plenty of it, freshley cooked for each person when you were seated at your table, lots of toast to finish off your meal. Hope you managed to get the "hot teapot stain" off the table Steve, blame my other half. All the best for the rest of the summer,cheers from the Woodfords

Room Tip: be prepared for climbing the stairs to get to any of the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a lovely 2 night break, couldn't of asked for more. Amazing weather, perfect location, free parking, great room and 2 friendly and helpful owners. Breakfast was great and the use of the guest fridge to keep the wine cool for us to sit opposite looking over the harbour was a great extra. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View

Address: 65 King Street, Brixham TQ5 9TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic grade II listed building, newly renovated in 2010. Panoramic harbour and sea views. Central to everything, located right on Brixham's picturesque inner harbour. Free parking on the harbourside, free Wi-Fi. Great value 3 or 4 night breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Harbour View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel Brixham
Harbour View Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.