We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, amazing food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Winds Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fair Winds Guest House to your Saves list
Fair Winds Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   166 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Brixham B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent, amazing food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to Paul and Gill for having us and making us feel very welcome. We loved the food was an amazing breakfast, the rooms was spacious and the beds were very comfortable! Would highly recommend staying at Fair Winds you will be looked after!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    30
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
217
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After a very warm welcome from the hosts we immediately felt very comfortable which was the case for the whole of our stay. Paul and Gill went over and above to make sure the whole of our stay was enjoyable and were very helpful with their local knowledge which helped us to plan our day trips. We stayed in the the Sundowner suite which was very comfortable, spacious and was very warm (which was very welcome after the weather on some days!). The whole house was exceptionally clean and tidy and the breakfasts were out of this world with plenty of choice being offered. We would highly recommend to anyone and will be definately visiting again ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

An excellent bed and breakfast with hosts who went the extra mile to make our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The bedroom was clean, spacious and provided all we needed. Lots of information and help of things to do, best places to eat, etc. Will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Sundowner was a quiet and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On Arriving we had a lovely welcome from Paul and Gill! what struck me first after the nice welcome was how clean and tidy Fair Winds was! our room the shower and Toilet so very nice and clean! a lovely Bed to sleep in Tea and Coffee TV what more could you want! then to top that the varied Breakfast you could have Pauls lovely Cooking and Gill keeping us top up with Tea and Coffee the lovely way they kept asking us if everything was ok did we want anything else to eat or drink! the lovely conversation we had with Paul and Gill! we felt very relaxed in Fair winds! and the lovely gesture Gill did for Lyn and myself she will know what that was very thoughtfull! would I recommend Fair Winds absolutely to my friends or anybody else who reads my review! we only booked for two nights it was so nice we stayed another night! God Bless Paul and Gill! from Nigel and Lyn x

Room Tip: Well all I can say if your looking for a good Guest House to stay when in Brixham you won't go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from our 12th stay at Fair Winds in New Road, Brixham. We visit Brixham 5 times a year and always stay with Gill and Paul. As usual, we were very well looked after. My mother's care home is nearby, which makes it a convenient stay for us, and when we are not visiting her, Fair Winds is handy for everything; the town centre, lovely walks and frequent buses to Paignton and Torquay stop outside. As ever, the breakfasts were excellent and the apartment immaculate and comfortable. All the beds we have tried at Fair Winds are wonderful - large and very comfortable!!

Room Tip: The apartment is great if you wish to self-cater or need to spend some of your time relaxing back at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Certainly the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in by far. The excellent hosts Paul and Gill could not do enough to help and advise on places to eat and visit.The rooms are absolutely spotless, very clean and airy. Breakfast was excellent with a wide and varied choice and Paul and Gill were more than happy to accommodate my wife's sometimes odd requests for breakfast. The food and service will certainly be very hard to beat and other bed and breakfast facility's could learn a great deal from Gill and Paul regarding hospitality, cleanliness and the best breakfast by far, You can certainly see why they have been awarded the Certificate of Excellence and Four stars, well deserved,Can not recommend highly enough and will certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent, number 12 bus stops right outside and can be used to get to Torquay, Paignt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We were welcomed on our arrival and shown to our immaculate room. Tea and biscuits were served which was appreciated after a long drive. The hosts Paul and Gill made us very welcome and were very helpful with places to visit, eat and the excellent bus service. The bus stops were right outside and were very regular throughout the day and evening. It was very easy to get connections outside the area. The breakfast menu was first class with so much choice and very good quality. This is a wonderful place to stay, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fair Winds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Winds Guest House

Address: 166 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Winds Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fair Winds Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Winds Hotel
Fair Winds Brixham
Fair Winds Guest House Brixham, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Winds Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.