We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brixham House

Brixham House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brixham House to your Saves list
Brixham House
130 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England (Formerly Lamorna Guest House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Brixham B&B and Inns
Somerset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Needs more work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a 4 star hotel, but we were sadly let down. We stayed (Room 2) on the 29th & 30th of June 2012. Our concerns were that, despite staying for two days, the towels and bed sheets weren't changed...even though we left the towels out.Standard treatment with places like Travel Lodge, which are NOT 4 star. The 'en-suite' was very cramped and one had to sit sideways otherwise end up with cramped knees, as the bathroom was so small. To access the shower, it was necessary to squeeze past the toilet or climb over it to have a shower. Even topping up the tea and coffee was done on a very minimal basis. No De-caf coffee. The place deserves 2 stars...NOt 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
80
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night break at Brixham House. From start to finish we were treated by Debra and Mark as members of their family. The room, food, and dining and lounge areas were all first class. As a result, in spite of the bad weather we had while we were there, my wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time and would certainly stay there again if we were in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

A very friendly and warm welcome. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Mark and Debra we not only friendly but very helpful. Putting themselves out to make a complaint re an incident we had in the harbour. Breakfast was excellent. Will certainly book again, hopefully in the near future. Evans family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great B&B in a good location easy to find. Short walk to the harbour. Very warm and inviting house and the owners are very friendly. Room was lovely and spacious and the breakfast was excellent. A very slick operation. Free parking which is a great bonus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights here last weekend on an impulsive getaway. Tis a nice comfortable clean B&B within 10 mins walk from the centre. The hosts are warm, welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was lovely.
The ensuite bathroom is compact and bijou but as long as you are not a swinger of cats then its no problem!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our group of 9 people returned here this year as it was where we finished a section of the S W coast path last year.Once again, we received a very friendly welcome, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast was excellent.I would not hesitate to recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed one night for a birthday treat. Everything from the moment Debra opened the door was perfect. Mark even lent me a belt which I had forgotten for my best trousers! The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and the bed and facilities excellent. The full English breakfast was perfectly cooked with toast served hot at the right time and delicious home made marmalade and preserves. Plenty of choice other than this. We would recommend it to anyone. Far better value and more comfortable than much more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: The room we had was at the back so nice and quiet. There are rooms at the front facing the road so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brixham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brixham House

Address: 130 New Road, Brixham TQ5 8DA, England (Formerly Lamorna Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Brixham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Brixham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamorna Guest House is highly recommended, being a 4 Star Britain accommodation with all rooms being full en-suite. We have our own private car park for all guests, room tariff includes a full English breakfast with all those extra trimmings, with only one thing in mind we aim to please and make your stay very pleasant and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brixham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brixham House Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brixham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.