We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all, but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Braunton Inn

The Braunton Inn
Braunton road, Braunton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 35 Restaurants in Braunton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I ate here before I visited this page, and I am genuinely surprised by all of the "terrible" ratings. We ate as a family of four and waited about half an hour for the food, having arrived with no booking at about 6.30pm. Nothing wrong with that at all.

The fish pie I had was very nice, although the portion was small and the salad accompaniment was so small that it was verging on the mean. The kids had sausage and mash, which they scoffed down. Overall, I would say that the food was good. The meal for four (two kids) and four drinks was about £45.

However, we were served by possibly one of the most unfriendly bar staff I have ever met. I do not want to get anyone into trouble, but we were actually a little taken aback at the attitude and had there been another establishment next door, I would have walked out. This person was also rude to people coming in and asking if there was availability and to other people already eating in the bar. Maybe they were just having a bad day, I don't know.... The other staff flitting around the place seemed friendly enough.

I would go back, as the location is beautiful and pretty handy by the road. If we hadn't had bad service I would have rated this as very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    67
    33
    38
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An 'average at best' restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Despite very polite, efficient & willing serving staff this place was very disapointing. Slightly care-worn in appearance, long delays for food to be served after ordering (during a very quiet early evening) and several menu items unavailable lead me to conclude that I will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Chain Pub Style Food Done Well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited one lunchtime as a party of 5 adults. The staff were really friendly and chatty. The dining rodeom was ok with good views.
There was something on the menu to suite the varied tastes of our party. The St Austel beer was good and well kept. The wine list was reasonable.


Prices were reasonable.

I'm not a huge fan chain style pubs but this was notably good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tried this restaurant whilst on holiday in Devon and was pleasantly surprised to find it a cut above the usual chain pub fare. They are obviously going for a higher quality product than is the norm and by and large Vintage Inns have pulled it off. My parents and brother like a fairly traditional menu and the Wednesday pie specials hit the mark with them. My husband tried the gourmet burger and definitely enjoyed it. I went for the seared salmon with vegetables and potatoes which were very well cooked (I hate dried out fish). The service was friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere pleasant. A nearby family with exceptionally well behaved children were catered for very nicely. All in all I would recommend this restaurant, and the Vintage Inn chain, to anyone and will definitely visit it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is a place I would not go to again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Where do I start!!! Ordered garlic mushrooms for a starter and a mix grill for the main. They said there was a 45mins waiting for which I wasn't bothered about. The meal took an hour and quarter to arrive and it wasn't all that busy. When it finally arrived the garlic mushrooms were luke warm and the mix grill was terrible. The egg yoke was rock hard and all the meat had dried out cause of it been sitting for so long. This mix grill was on par with what you get from Weatherspoons at £8 not £14 like Braunton Inn are charging. The meat looks like they brought it from Icelands. I'm an ex Marine and MOD rations are better than the food they were serving!

The service isn't up to much either. Our friend complained about her starter and the waitress said to her "What do you want me to do about it?" So the staff need training as well as the chef! On the plus side my wife manage to get 6 kids ice creams on the house.

Their also not much for the children to do either.

I would not recommend this Inn to any one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Braunton Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Braunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Braunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.