We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Braunton Inn

The Braunton Inn
Braunton road, Braunton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 24 restaurants in Braunton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Woolacombe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Lovely building , lovely setting, lovely atmosphere but the food very poor value for money. We had high hopes with new people taking over but the food is still not good value.
I can fully understand why it is ranked 16th out of seventeen Braunton restaurants!
We shall not return in a hurry The Rock and the Kings Arms at Georgeham far better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    39
    46
    19
    25
    85
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Visited early December on a very stormy night. Very warm and csy inside with the real log fire burning. Not many people at the restaurant probably due to the weather! After reading some of the views on tripadvisor I was not really sure what to expect but have to say I was impressed with both the ambience of the place and the food. The service was brilliant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We entered the Brauton Inn and the heat hit us,(It was cold outside !) beautiful log fires for a warm comfortable environment. . The barmaid BIG smile and warm welcome. We were offered a table in the dining room or a table by the fire in the bar area,which we took.
Advertised as "Pie Week" we had the pie. . . A huge man-size portion of beautifully cook beef in Burgundy wine. . Thin puff pastry lid, three green veg which consisted of, pea's, French green beans and broad beans, and a stack of what looked like home made chips, Best pie ive ever had in a " pub" we also had a portion of cauliflower cheese and crisp potatoes.
Great selections of beers and draught largers. . . If i had one gripe, it would have been the Cauliflower cheese,It was very runny (which suggest it had been frozen) & abit more cheese !
Staff were all smiles, friendly and helpful. . Great place, would deffo recommend "The Pie"

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eww”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A very cosy place, nice and warm. The atmosphere was great. As the starters came, I commented on how small my portion was. The waitress was quite helpful, but she couldn't pronounce 'cutlery' right; she said "Cutree". As the main course came out, I watched in horror as the frozen main was placed infront of my father. He felt to see what temperature it was, and was extremely shocked and outraged to find that it was frozen! My mother called for the waitress, who took it away and evidently placed it in the microwave! As it came out for the second time, the yorkshire pudding was stuck to the plate and had the texture of leather! The pudding was nice for me, as the chocolate brownie tasted brilliant! However, my sisters desert claimed to be a 'donut' but looked far from it. It looked like a fried tapeworm! Do not go here!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited on Saturday 24th Nov during one of those terrible rain storms. It was a delight to enter this beautiful building and be welcomed and seated straight away. Our waitress really went out of her way to look after us and the food was superb. Well cooked, hot, and nicely presented. This is one place we will visit again when here for the weekend or on holiday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Braunton Inn also viewed

 
Ilfracombe, Devon
 

Been to The Braunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Braunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.