We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for families.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park

Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park
Save
You added Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park to your Saves list
Saunton Road, Braunton EX33 1EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely for families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very accommodating campsite, very clean. Nice big pitches and a playpark in the middle where all the kids could meet and play. The toilets were a bit of a walk in the middle of the night, but there were closer pitches. The gates are locked between 10pm and 8am which I was a bit unsure of as I needed to get out at 7:30 one morning and couldn't, but I understand them not wanting cars driving around during those hours and it was safe for the children. There was also a bit of noise late at night (not enough to wake the kids) but the woman screaming at people to shut up was more disturbing than the noise itself! Lovely campsite, will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    17
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

No karaoke, bars or Redcoats nonsense. Just a great campsite where the kids all play together. Good toilets although the showers are quite small. Nice to have a catering van available. Beware you can't walk to the beach from the site and you need to factor in £7.50 a day to park at the beach. Beautifully kept grassy pitches, although not much natural shade for most.

You don't want a site by the entrance unless that's all that's left.

Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This site was very clean, tidy, quiet and best of all (especially in the UK) the rain quickly drains away, also the pitches were the biggest we've ever had. On the site was a burger van that sold the usual burgers, bacon rolls etc, we bought chips to go with our BBQ, tasty chips and the man was friendly. Toilet block was always clean - slight downside I would have liked a private cubicle to have a wash, plus side though I never had to queue for the showers. Site was also very convenient to get to Saunton Sands and Croyde beaches.

Room Tip: We stayed in a tent in the first field, this was lovely and flat, the second field slopes slightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited Lobb Field with my young family to introduce them to the delights of North Devon.

The site was fantastic - not over crowded and very clean. Staff were helpful and the on-site Surf Board Hire was also good. We didn't use the catering facility but heard good reports.

This Site doesn't have a Club House - This suits us as it keeps the noise down.

Access to a good supermarket is not obvious, but I saw some Camping Parties getting a Tesco Delivery, which I thought was a good idea and saved time - one for next time. There is a "Corner Shop" tucked away amongst the adjacent housing area which sold a good selection at reasonable prices.

The brilliant thing about the site is the location, Saunton Sands is fantastic with great facilities, whilst the busier resorts of Croyde Bay and Woolacombe are a short drive away. That said you do need a car even to get to Saunton Sands and the Car Park is £7.00 a day which is, in my opinion, worth it.

You should be prepared for some Traffic Jams through Braunton to and from the Camp Site, but other than change over day, you don't need to do the journey

Room Tip: We stayed in the Middle Field which appeared to have better Toilet and Shower Facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This camping and caravan site really is first rate. Have been going for around five years now and have had no complaints. The facilities are excellent, from Alan the onsite breakfast & chippy bar to very well kept toilets and showers, we have always been very well looked after. The onsite team are fabulous - so helpful and we are now lucky enough to have our caravan stored onsite to make our stays even more convenient. Plus a really fantastic location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have been holidaying at Lobb Fields for about 30 years with my parents and now both myself and my brother have babies of our own we both couldn't wait to introduce them to the family tradition and to Lobb also.
As always we had a blissful family holiday this year. The site is excellently managed by a friendly, helpful team who work hard to ensure that campers have an enjoyable holiday. We know that noise is never an issue late at night, the facilities are always spotless and my little girl was able to crawl around and explore to her hearts delight. We have never had any issue with other campers as most like us return year after year and so are familiar faces.
We have visited the site as a couple, with our friends and every year with our family and have always had a great holiday. If you're after a holiday camp style break with late night bars, amusements and onsite entertainment then this is not the place for you but if you are after a relaxing, enjoyable holiday with walks, beaches and a lovely village with bars and restaurants in walking distance then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Leigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

After many previous visits to Lobb Fields, our last week there has been fab! Immaculately clean facilities, hot showers and large pitches are just some of the benefits of the site! My family and I return to Lobb several times a year, every year. Staff are always polite and friendly. The best thing about Lobb is that you are assured of a good night's sleep as an 11pm noise limit is in place. We still sit out with a drink, as do many others, but the noise cut off is respected. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Lobb Fields to everyone, particularly to families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Saunton Road, Braunton EX33 1EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Braunton
Number of rooms: 254
Also Known As:
Lobb Fields Caravan And Camping Park Braunton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobb Fields Caravan and Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.