We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of British Surfing

Museum of British Surfing
Caen Street car park, Braunton EX33 1AA, England
+44 1271 815155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Braunton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The national registered charity preserving our surfing heritage, celebrating current achievements and helping to shape the future of surfing in Great Britain. Please keep an eye on our website for our seasonal opening times.
Kent UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

well worth the £4 entry, brilliant to step back in time and see the history

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfingmuseum, Owner at Museum of British Surfing, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in 2013 for our exhibition 'Sixties SURFER!'. Open from March 2 to December 24, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New in Braunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

What a fantastic new project, I'm sure that it will go from stength to stength.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfingmuseum, Owner at Museum of British Surfing, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in 2013 for our exhibition 'Sixties SURFER!'. Open from March 2 to December 24, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you are really really into surfing then I guess it's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Bit pricey. I'd go and have a look at the normal museum. It's free.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfingmuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of British Surfing, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hello there - thanks very much for your feedback. We'd like to know if you based your review on actually visiting the museum, or if the entry price put you off from coming in? We are a specialist, national and independent museum so have to charge an entry price for most visitors in order to pay our way. Many other museums like Ilfracombe, the National Maritime Museum Cornwall charge entry fees.
If you're local we hold two "locals go free" days each year - normally in association with the North Devon Gazette Newspaper.
Braunton Museum is a valuable local history resource and operates under a different system hence it is free, but asks visitors for donations.
Our pricing information can be found here: http://www.museumofbritishsurfing.org.uk/information/prices/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

woul like to have vistied this venue but coulant find you as the road signs very misleading so had to miss out

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfingmuseum, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of British Surfing, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We're sorry you couldn't find us and that we missed your visit. Our 'Art of Surf' exhibition runs until December 24th 2012, and next year's exhibition about surfing in the 1960s starts when we open again on March 2nd 2013.
Detailed instructions on how to visit and where we are can be found on our website - http://www.museumofbritishsurfing.org.uk/information/finding-the-museum/
There were also 6 AA road signs around Braunton village between April and October, while we apply for a formal brown signs. We hope to see you again soon and feel free to call for directions on 01271 815155.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of British Surfing also viewed

 

Been to Museum of British Surfing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of British Surfing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.