We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with fantastic views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saunton Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Saunton Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Saunton Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel with fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our daughter got married at this stunning hotel last Saturday, where we stayed for a couple nights as well. The staff at the hotel was so helpful and welcoming, the food was excellent and Shaun Sanders our wedding co-ordinator was brilliant ensuring that we had absolutely nothing to worry about from the minute we arrived the day before. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a short break, holiday or as a wedding venue. Fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I'm so glad that your daughter had a fantastic wedding with us and that lifetime memories were made. I'm so pleased you equally enjoyed your own stay. I will thank Shaun personally on your behalf. I do hope that you will visit us again very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    214
    111
    62
    37
See reviews for
277
289
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lunch on the terrace to start the weekend off. Table overlooking the beach - fabulous food, the crab linguine was to die for and the service great (thank you Rosalind).

Had a twin sea facing room with a huge balcony, sunbeds table and brolly - great for pre dinner drinks!

Evening table d'hote meal was one of the best we've all had in a long time - the walnut whip dessert was heaven!

We were lucky that the weather was kind to us so also managed a couple of hours by the outdoor pool on Sunday morning. Anyone who saw our photos thought we were in the med.

All in all a great stay with great service.

Thank you

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
What a fantastic review of your night away with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. I'm so pleased that you loved the food, I will pass your compliments on to the team and also Rosalind. Please do come and stay again soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

3 generations enjoyed the fantastic views from our rooms. Food was good and the staff always smiling and helpful. The heated outside pool was great with plenty of sun loungers. The hotel is high above a 3 mile sandy beach popular with surfers.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view some have balconies. There are family rooms with double, and twins in an adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you had a great time and that three generations enjoyed your break equally. We pride ourselves on being a great family orientated hotel run by our own family. I do hope to see you again very soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Family suite overlooking the beach was fabulous in every respect. Staff were very helpful and hotel lovely. Used the outdoor and indoor swimming pools which were great.
Overall a lovely stay, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy you were able to make use of the outdoor pool in the lovely weather we have been having. Thank you for recommending us. Please do come back again soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had our office Christmas party at Saunton in December 2013 and it was wonderful. The hotel itself is stunning and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location right on the beach is fantastic and of course this leads to stunning views. The staff however were another level. From the very beginning they were extremely helpful and efficient, we had a lot of switching-of-rooms to be done during the process and that was never a problem for them. On the day itself, the staff were again great, really friendly and accommodating. The duty manager that was on that evening was particularly good and couldn't do enough to help. We were a group of 20 age range from 22-50-something and everyone loved the hotel, the food, the staff etc. My one tiny criticism was that the pool wasn't very well sign posted, but that's not really a problem when you have so many friendly staff members to ask. I would recommend this highly for anyone looking to organise a corporate event.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
What a great review of your time with us, I shall pass on your comments to everyone. We are so fortunate to be situated overlooking the beach and burrows and I know that our corporate parties relish the views after working hard all day! Our staff are such a credit to us and I'm so pleased you were looked after so well. I hope that you will all make a return visit soon - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I invited six friends for a short break. We had.a wonderful time with fantastic accommodation overlooking the stunning Saunton Beach.The staff were very attentive (obviously well trained) and the food was excellent. Our friends have asked to book again for next year.

Room Tip: Must have a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a lovely review. There is no better compliment for us than that you are already looking to make a return visit. I look forward to welcoming you back - Pete Brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked this as a special surprise for my husband for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Our room was wonderful with fantastic sea view. Only one minor disappointment was the size of the bathroom however everything else was perfect. The facilities were excellent and the staff were most attentive. Fantastic food, wonderful location and to top it all we had amazing weather. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must - well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Owner at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
It sounds as though you had a great anniversary break with us. Thank you so much for your kind words, I shall pass on your comments to everyone. Please do come again soon - Pete brend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saunton Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.