We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saunton Sands Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saunton Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good family hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Saunton Sands hotel is not cheap but you do get great service and if you have a sea view room a view to die for.Good food but poor expensive wines.
Great for families ideal for small children.
This must be one of the best hotel locations in the UK on a fantastic beach.
Always chose a sea view room and you will not be disappointed.
Service was first class, friendly attentive staff.

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    198
    103
    60
    35
See reviews for
262
268
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birkdale
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We only managed a one night stay as the hotel was extremely busy the weekend we booked. Our balconied sea view room was modestly sized however the bathroom was disappointing. It had no shelf or usable surface space to store our toiletries. The bedroom, which caught the sun, was very warm and the absence of air conditioning window opening as the only breezy alternative. The hotel is otherwise well appointed and in a fantastic location. At £270 for a double room with a sea view it is overpriced by 4 star standards.

Room Tip: The sea views are marvellous but at a premium price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked one of the 2 bed apartments, ashford, on arrival every room smelt of smoke, when we complained there no alternative rooms in the hotel due to a wedding, so the manager offered to send the cleaners in. This wasn't taken up as we had a baby that was asleep but it should have been dealt with by the cleaners before we got there, it was obvious. The cleaner's comment the next day "we had golfers in last week" was bizarre given it is a no smoking room/hotel. Aside from this, the 4 star rating is simpy not accurate, the ashfield suite can't have been updated in 20+ years. I've read the comments about the rolling refurbishment programe but the hotel should have the decency to post photos and accurate descriptions of all rooms as we wouldn't have stayed here had we known the standard of the apartment - kitchen is tiny, bathrooms outdated, aged decor, artex walls and ceilings, carpets not particularly clean. When I said to the manager it wasn't fair to advertise that apartment as 4* he said he wasn't aware it had been - but it's a 4* hotel and the website showcases luxury family apartments, not sure why there could be any ambiguity. Breakfast was overly expensive given it was served cold. To their credit they knocked off 10% from the room rate - but it should have been more as that rate is still nowhere near 4* quality. overall extremely disappointed with the stay given the cost

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The Apartments in which you occupied are graded separately to the Hotel by both the Visit Britain and the AA. The Ashford apartment has been graded as three star, which is clearly stated on our apartment brochure.

Once again I am sorry that Saunton Sands did not meet your expectations on this occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night B&B at this fantastic hotel. Visited the area since childhood (now in my 50's) and always been impressed by this magnificent looking art deco hotel. Built in the 1930's, your could imagine Hercule Poirot sipping a Creme De Menthe on the Terrace! This hotel would normally be out of my price range but managed to get a great B&B deal including complimentary bottle of local wine (delicious) and a cream tea for two (enough for 4). The room was very large, lovely, great decor and huge bed - bathroom was a little tired but wasn't expecting the best room because of the great rate we found. I was very lucky with the weather and managed to enjoy the outdoor pool on 2 days and a spot of sunbathing. Also enjoyed the indoor pool and table tennis. Will have to try the putting green or tennis next time. Staff were very professional and polite - whole experience was great and tinged with nostalgia. One tiny exception - it is worth asking if a wedding is booked as our room was over the hotel entrance and close to the evening reception (this was only a problem because of one loud and unruly wedding guest). We ate on the terrace, food was excellent. Dress code for restaurant - which is refreshing. Waiting staff were charming but there didn't seem to be enough this morning (Saturday) - only saw 4. Bar staff are super attentive. The uniformed Porter is friendly and efficient and greeted me from the car and managed my luggage (impressed). Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If the front of the hotel is the entrance then the back of the hotel has the fantastic view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is not the prettiest building you will ever see but once inside the establishment exudes charm. It is classy without being stuffy. The immaculately turned out staff are extremely courteous and helpful. The room my wife and I stayed in had everything one could wish for, was serviced daily by conscientious quietly efficient staff and had a reasonably sized bathroom which was scrupulously clean.
We enjoyed using both the indoor and outdoor pools (towels provided at both) perhaps the outdoor loungers are past their best, but it’s not a major problem and a simple issue for the manager to put right. Is the sauna new? It’s hardly been used and again is scrupulously clean. The well maintained terrace and gardens have magnificent views over the bay and dunes.
Public areas are well furnished and comfortable.
Drinks are a little bit pricey but you won’t find any rowdy lager louts in here.
This is a well run establishment in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fantastic views over braunton burrows and saunton sands from this hotel, Staff all very helpful. We thought it looked a bit too formal for us in the restaurant, so evenings we ate in the lounge bar and the food was excellent with good size portions and reasonably priced considering the standard and location of the hotel. Only used indoor pool which was clean and quiet in the early morning, spa and therapist I had were lovely, I agree with some others on here some things do need updating, couple of little niggles, we had a bedroom at back of hotel room 202, and the bathroom really needed updating, with the sealent strip coming away from bath and mouldy in places, the mattress not very comfortable ended up putting a pillow under the side to stop rolling out, and noisey fan / busy coast road even at night!! apart from that, we would love to go again, although next time we would havea room at the front of hotel.

Room Tip: choose a sea view room at the front, alot of traffic noise at back of hotel even through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I dream of the days when I can shut down my laptop and take my family away to Saunton Sands Hotel. I have been enjoying the delights of this hotel and indeed the Brend Gropup of Hotels for for over 25 years. We frequent Summertime & Christmas and the experience just gets better and better. The foods is fantastic the service is delightful,views are spectacular and the extertainment exceptional for moms dads and kids.Its the best in all of Devon. The hotel cateres for all age groups in everyway and the management and staff have a way of making each and everyone of us feel a million dollars. My nine, ten and eleven year old all can't be wrong can they?? Its there first choice holiday experience everytime we ask them. Thoroughly recommends this unique hotel experience for young and old.

Room Tip: Sea view spectacular but fab deals on inland facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands
Saunton Sands Hotel Braunton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saunton Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.