We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Cottage

Silver Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Cottage
Save
You added Silver Cottage to your Saves list
14, Silver Street, Braunton EX33 2EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Braunton B&B and Inns
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and agree with everything others have said - we also had an evening meal, cooked by Sophie, which was delicious and easily 'restaurant quality' - our best meal of the holiday and using ingredients from Sophie's well stocked garden. Sophie and Matt are superb hosts, we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Braunton.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at silver Cottage for just a night before our wedding - lovely facilities and a cracking breakfast in the morning. Close enough to town to walk in, but quiet and peaceful. The recommendations for a local restaurant were spot on, and there's a little pub just down the road that's also fun. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed at Silver Cottage again, perhaps the fourth or fifth time we've visited this lovely B&B. The hosts were incredibly welcoming and full of good ideas for things to do with the children in the surrounding area (especially useful given the amount of rain during our stay). We had such a perfect relaxing time - the beds are extremely comfortable and very warm (love the electric blankets and crisply ironed sheets!), the sitting room and kitchen a brilliant area to relax and eat dinner in, the breakfasts so scrummy (particularly the eggs - laid by their own chickens) and the garden absolutely picturesque. We will definitely be back - such a fantastic find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Found this B & B by chance but worth every penny,
Owners were very welcoming ,bed comfortable and the facilities,whilst not ensuite were perfectly acceptable.Breakfast was exellent.Will stay there again on my next visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It`s a worthwile trek off the SWCP and into the attractive old village of Braunton to find Silver Cottage. Sophie has a talent for this. The bedrooms have a lovely, crisp, cute, cottagey feel to them; the bedlinen and toiletries were high spec: we felt so much at home with a lounge & small kitchen to ourselves that we stayed in for the night. Walking the SWCP, you see the same old pub grub in every town/village whereas Sophie rustled up soup, sandwiches, dessert and a great breakfast for us, with plenty of home-grown and home-made ingredients. We really appreciated the quality of the food & accommodation and the warmth of the welcome. Good luck to her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bookham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We recently stayed at Silver cottage as a base for exploring the South West Coastal path. After a hard days walking from Woolacombe we were made to feel very welcome. Sophie even made us a cream tea with homemade scones and damson jam YUM YUM! The cottage is very quaint and set in the character area of Braunton. The black Horse pub is just down the lane and serves a good pint. The B&B accommodation is very comfortable with lovely bedrooms and a nice lounge area to relax. Breakfast in the morning was 10 out of 10 with wonderful fresh eggs from Matt & Sophie's chickens. If you want a nice place to stay with great hospitality Silver Cottage can't be faulted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A lovely night in Braunton thanks to amazing hospitality from Sophie and Matt. The bed linen was crisp and perfect, the view beautiful and the best veggie breakfast I have ever had. A real home from home, highly recommended if you are looking for a B & B which goes the extra mile (the lavender bags are a real bargain)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cottage

Address: 14, Silver Street, Braunton EX33 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Braunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building is a terrace of two grade two listed cottages, one of which is the guests' accomodation. Guests have their own private terrace and use of the secluded gardens. The accomodation comprises two double bedrooms with shared shower room, sitting room and kitchenette. Breakfast is served in a private dining room. There is ample secure storage for surf boards, bicycles and other holiday kit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Cottage Braunton, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.