We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner Bistro

The Corner Bistro
8 The Square, Braunton EX33 2JD, England
+44 1271 813897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Braunton
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The corner bistro is all about quality produce and a love of simple, unpretentious cooking. Our menu's feature the very best of the fantastic fresh local produce available: great dry aged steaks, organic burgers, fresh salads, local day boat fish and seafood. Drink, segafredo coffee, microbrewery ales and lager, amazing wine list from small artisan producers. Service - genuinely attentive that puts the emphasis back on the customer. Our ambience is not fancy nor formal, just relaxed - come for breakfast, lunch or dinner, a place for any occasion. Please note that our opening hours are amended with the seasons.
Lichfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As good as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We returned to The Corner Bistro this evening to experience again their steak frites menu with a bottle of red wine for £30. It is somewhile since our last visit and we were not disappointed. Pleasant and attentive service in a relaxed atmosphere. We chose extra starters and really recommend the king prawns. The steak and frites were perfect-hot and crispy frites cooked to perfection and steaks that melted in the mouth and were cooked just as we ordered. Portion sizes were generous and we sadly had to refuse a sweet. Thankyou Emma and Andy your standards are as high as ever and we love The Corner Bistro.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    18
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food and a great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I Recently dined at the corner bistro over the may half term with my family twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. Both times the food was great, the steaks were perfectly cooked and very tender. The 'café de Paris' garlic and herb butter accompanies the rib eye steak beautifully. The waitresses were very friendly and hospitable and made every effort to make our night special! Pricing is very reasonable considering the high quality of steak and generous portion size. I can also recommend the Irish coffee with a shot of vanilla syrup for a new twist on a classic drink! Overall if you're after a great meal in a nicely furnished restaurant with a warm atmosphere give the commercialised rubbish a miss and visit The Corner Bistro!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everyone must try the breakfast in the Corner Bistro in Braunton, it is fabulous! its a great place to relax, great laid back atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yummmm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Outstanding steak and great service. Loved the starters and little extras (warm fresh baked bread). Thanks for a lovely meal. We will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had wanted to try here for a long time and was very disappointed. About £7 for starters, bought pate, small slab with small amount of chutney and pickle. 4 out of 6 steaks were well done instead of medium/medium rare. Chips were like McDonalds and £3 for baby leaf salad, miniscule amount. Everyone was pleasant and no we didn't complain as didn't know what they would have done. We were starving and didn't want to wait for more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbeat, Owner at The Corner Bistro, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
On a Friday in addition to our main menu we offer our Steak Frites Menu (Steak & thin fries as in France), which I believe you chose from. This offer includes 2 Steaks, Fries & a Bottle of House Wine for £30.00. It is very unfortunate to receive such a review after checking on your group on numerous occasions on the evening and receiving positive responses. If we had had been advised there was a problem, we would have of course rectified it. Thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.