We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bigbury-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Challaborough Beach, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Loughborough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Having spent a week on the caravan park, I didn't want to come home, I think that was mainly the good weather though. We stayed in 2 caravans during our stay (we booked a 3 and 4 night holiday through the paper). The first van was very basic (green caravan) It had 2 bedrooms, a small bathroom and the bed was really uncomfortable. It was fitted with full sized fridge and freezer, microwave and tv. Our second caravan was far superior and I literally could have lived in it forever. We stayed up on the hill which has really good views and is much quieter.

The holiday park is a bit dated and could do with a referb. Check in was quick and informative. There is a local shop which sells more or less everything you might need, a takeaway which we ate at once. the fish and chips were good, the guy that served us was not running a fast food place that's for sure. We played bingo which was fun, and listened to 1 singer. We had a 1yr old with us so spent most evenings to ourselves. The beer prices are expensive. Wifi is only available in the bar which is annoying. There is also no phone signal (unless you find a bridge in the park)

We didn't use the pool but it was apparently good. We went on the beach everyday, it's a nice small beach, but if you walk up the hill to the left you will get to Bigbury and that is a much nicer one and you can walk on to Burgh Island and pop in for a pint in the Inn.

In all, we booked our holiday through an offer and got a good value stay, my parents were quoted an extortionate price to stay for the weekend which I believe would not have been worth their money.

Room Tip: Try asking for an upgrade to a nicer quality caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Booked a short caravan break which was upgraded to include own decking area. Quiet place but the amenities are enough if you have young children. We spent most of our time walking and there are plenty of sea walks. Everyone was really friendly and we ate at both the onsite pub and offsite fish and chip shack.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week with our toddler and baby. The park was nice and quiet, with friendly and helpful staff, a good indoor swimming pool and good entertainment for children. It's very handy for Challaborough beach, and Bigbury-on-Sea and Burgh Island are a short walk away on a coastal path that was sufficiently wide and smooth for our double buggy. There are various pubs/cafes/takeaways on site or nearby, all of which were fine. Getting further afield means a car journey: Salcombe and Bantham beach were well worth the effort. The nearest decent-sized supermarket is in Kingsbridge, which is a good 20+ mins away by car - not a problem if you combine it with a trip to somewhere else like Bantham as we did.

Our only gripes were that the carpet could have done with a professional clean and that at 8pm on the first night we discovered that the cooker wasn't working! We got a takeaway instead for that night, and the cooker was fixed promptly the next morning with no fuss.

Overall I'd recommend it for anyone wanting a quiet holiday near the beach, so long as you are confidant driving on Devon lanes, which are often very narrow and have high hedges concealing walls or earthen banks on either side. I grew up and learned to drive nearby, so not a problem in my case!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here last week and what a disappointment. Site is off the beaten track and site is very run down. Ate in the restaurant on Fathers Day which was just terrible. Pool is cold, bubble pool is colder and toddler pool is nothing more than a paddling pool. Used Parkdean in the past and definitely had better. Shop is overpriced but you are miles away from any supermarkets. No mobile phone signal was a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is worth it as a cheap base close to Burgh Island. I would recommend eating the delicious fish or scallops and chips from the hut/van near the beach and watching the sunset as you eat them! It's quick to walk around the coast to Burgh Island where you can catch the sea tractor or walk across the sand. We've enjoyed this as a cheap and easy get away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a Sun £15pp holiday. Where do we start? Beautiful? Peaceful? Idyllic? Perfect? My favourite place in the world? I is all of these!!!!
We were very lucky & had been upgarded? I dont know why but I THANK YOU Parkdean.
We were here on a Fri-Mon break. 3 X 40 somethings. I paid £115 for the 3 of us (brochure price £352)
The caravan was equipped with everything we could possibly need.
Spotlessly clean. Very comfy. And central heating (needed on a wet Sat night)
Loved the swimming pools adults only 8-9. Had the pool to myself Sat morning.
Enjoyed the breakfast on site plenty to fill you up for the day.
Lovely beach. I personally enjoyed the young surfers removing wetsuits ;-)
Will be returning.
Gonna try & upload pics.
Cant upload anymore pics but happy to email you pics if you have any questions?
P.S No mobile phone signal.... HEAVEN....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If its a small friendly park you are looking for with the emphasis on getting out and about and exploring the stunning coastline and Burgh Island then this park is for you.

We went with the mind set of getting out with the kids, exploring the rock pools at low tide, walking the coast line and then returning for a drink in the evening while the kids watched the entertainment.

The park is down some narrow lanes but as most people have put on here , if you drive sensible and take your time , then they are perfectly fine, driven narrower back home, so these are fine. good directions to print off are on the Challaborough wesite (not the park one).

It has a decent enough pool for a quick dip, a very small arcade and bar - but there is so much to explore on the coast so reserve these for a rainy day. The bar on the beach front is modern and the food we had was excellent.

Nearby Burgh Island and Sea Tractor is definitely worth walking over the cliff for and the Pub on Burgh Island is not exclusive for residents to the hotel/island as suggested - one bar is and one bar isn't - and you can take your drinks onto the beach below in the sunshine , so perfect!

Overall - this isn't a massive park so do not expect to be occupied for a week onsite as you wont be but if you are looking for a base for exploring where you really can enjoy great coastline and get away from it all (no phone networks) then this park is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Challaborough Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Address: Challaborough Beach, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bigbury-on-Sea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Bigbury-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — Challaborough Bay Holiday Park 4*
Also Known As:
Challaborough Bay Holiday Park Hotel Bigbury-On-Sea
Challaborough Bay Holiday Park Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Challaborough Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Challaborough Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list