We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park

Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park
Near Bigbury-on-sea, Bigbury-on-Sea TQ7 4HU, England
0191 256 0795
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Discover Devon's Secret Bay...Keep this to yourself but there's a speaceful holiday park, in a quiet corner of Devon, set right on the edge of a glorious, sheltered beach. It's a perfect coastal retreat with blue seas to paddle in, rugged paths to explore, tiny villages to discover and wonderful views across to historic Burgh Island. Even the name's a delight... Challaborogh Bay.* A quiet, friendly park by a secluded beach * Golden sands and a great surf school * Rugged walks along the South West Coastal Path * An Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty * Perfect base for exploring the heritage coastline
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great weekend break on 12th July, booked it through the sun holiday offer paid £105 for the weekend, weather was boiling hot!!!
Caravan was lovely everything you could ask for.
We stayed in 25 Hilltop away at the end of the park but was nice and quiet and had a lovely view.
We visited Burgh Island a small costal walk from camp over cliff top, you can walk across to island in low tide or catch the water tractor if the water is in.
Water was crystal clear great for snorkelling, would definitely go back.
We took a 2hr evening river/costal cruise from Kingsbridge paid £10.50 well worth it beautiful view of Salcombe and coast, the weather was still warm even at 9pm when we got back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    44
    23
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“PARKDEAN CHALLABOROUGH BAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in Caravan 43 which was ideally located for the beach, swimming pool and entertainment. What a lovely site, well maintained and clean. The caravan was spotless. The area was beautiful, the weather helped! Went swimming in the sea and walked over to Burgh Island. Don't be put off by reviews about the narrow lanes, ok some are narrow but take it easy and it will be ok. Not a lot of mobile signal, but 02 ok on swimming pool & near NISA shop. T Mobile ok on walk over to Burgh Island. And don't forget the Free Wifi at Costa!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We used the Sun newspaper deal to spend 3 nights here. We were not sure what to expect only having paid £60. However, we were accommodated in a clean and modern static home within 400 yards of the beach. There is ample parking right next to the accommodation. Each home gets table and chairs outside and BBQ’s are positively encouraged. The home was clean and tidy, with TV and hot running water. A good shower is a must having spent the day on the beach and we weren’t disappointed. There were only two of us but the home was able to accommodate at least 6 comfortably. The home itself is situated in a very quiet location and we did not get disturbed the whole time there. Although Challaborough itself is limited in terms of things to do, we found plenty of activities in the local are including a well-stocked surf shop in Bigby (5min walk) where we hired “paddle boards” for 2hrs to explore Burgh Island – we highly recommend this not having done it before. You can explore small caverns and hidden water ways with stunning sea life in crystal clear water. We also visited Dartmouth (45min drive) where we booked a half day Kayaking. This took us down the river Dart into the ocean where we were lucky enough to encounter seals that were as curious as we were – (recommend you have kayaked before as it is fairly strenuous for beginners). We also took the only steam powered boat in the UK on a trip up the river plus a trip on the Steam Railway from Kingswear (a short passenger ferry from Dartmouth) to Paignton. However, we recommend you stop at Goodrington Sands, as Paignton is littered with drunks, tramps and amusement arcades – avoid at all costs. It is essential you switch off your satnav as there are many small roads all going to the same location and some of them are not really useable for cars. Pick your route carefully using a map to ensure you use the main roads only. Best thing of all is the total lack of mobile phone signal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break! :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had a lovely weekend here in April.
We paid extra to upgrade to a central heated caravan & I'm so pleased we did as it was very chilly outside one night!
The caravan was clean & had everything we needed for a weekend break.
The upgrade wasn't cheap but the location of caravan & heating made it worth while!

The coast line & walk to the island was beautiful & a definite must during a visit.

The food in the bar was nice "pub grub" & convenient.

We did not use the pool or see the evening shows so I can't comment.

I would book to come again & we had a lovely time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Loved everything about this beautiful holiday park. Cant wait to return later in the year. Loved no mobile phone signal the best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park also viewed

 

Been to Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parkdean - Challaborough Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list