We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Sisters Fabulous Wedding” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bickleigh Castle

Save Saved
You added Bickleigh Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bickleigh Castle
1.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Bickleigh B&B and Inns
South Wales, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Sisters Fabulous Wedding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

As a location for a wedding Bickleigh Castle made a Fabulouse backdrop and my sisters wedding it was faultless.

However the accommodation I was assigned was of extremely poor qualily. My partner and I were given the smallest double bedroom I have ever seen, anywhere! in addition to the very small double bed (for 2 strappin lads!) we also shared a bathroom with other guests. We were in the Cottage lol. The bathroom is of very poor quality and is well overdue an entire refit. with the shower rail broken and the towel rail hanging off the wall to list but a few faulty things with it.

In our bedroom we had tea and coffee making facilities, on closer inspection of the kettle, we chose not to use it! that with a very naff old alam clock was the list of great fittings no tv or even hairdryer bolttled water would be a good idea and some blackout lining in thosethin curtains would help block out the light on those bright early mornings.

Our bedside and over head lamp were covered with dead flies, the room was not made up nor the bin emptied after the first night.

Fittings in the room were of poor standared with a totel lack of hanging facilities, not a wardrobe in site just 2 poles against the wall and only 1 pillow each on the bed.

other members of my family did have very nice accomadation, its just a shame that the cottage looks a little sad with its woodchip and lack of space. If your planning a wedding think b4 you use the cottage, guests may be better off at a local BB staying here isnt cheap and not at all comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    43
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
30
115
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed for two nights in the 'family' room, which was too pokey for the four of us. It was un-cleaned, the carpets were grubby (which seemed strange as the host had announced that the carpets were proffessionally cleaned and this is why must all remove our shoes before entering the accomodation!), there were cobwebs and dead flies everywhere.There was no water to drink. There was no wardrobe or hanging space (I had to hang my dressses over the dust covered beams!) There were no full length mirrors anywhere and what mirrors there were, were shoved up into the corner of the room (the one in the room of one of the guests was so high up she could only glimpse the top of her head). The bathroom was shared and the shower rail was being held up by duct tape and to open the window you had to squeeze between the sink and wall (no more than 6 inches) and force the window open. All of this we may have tolerated had there not been a catalogue of further complaints. The owners were so rude it is almost impossible to explain; they accused guests of things they hadn'd done (one was accused of breaking a window and ordered to come to the office to pay for the damage...in front of all the other guests at breakfeast. Highly embarrassing and completely unfounded!!) The hostess we nick-named 'Scary Sarah' prayed upon the guests like some sort of stalker! We had endure her lectures at each meal tme. She was actively rude to guests (pushing them out of the way to get through and being generally impolite), The whole family (Sarah, her husband and daughter) helped themselves to the wedding guests food, queue-jumping... and even eating the wedding cake! Simple requests, such as 'is the breakfast room above the lounge?', were met with long-winded Sarah-spoutings in order to boast about the establishment (which frankly is not even that nice!). When I made a joke about the cobbles (which are deadly and cause people to fall and ruined my mothers expensive shoes) the reply was nasty, telling me that I should have expected cobbles and dressed accordingly- for a wedding!?! The husband announced, in front of guests, that he was locking the doors to the caslte as he, and i quote, 'feared an invasion'. He also locked the bride and grooms possessions in the castle and seemed offended when he was asked to open the doors so that they could be retrieved. All together it was an enjoyable stay but only as a result of the high class guests and their ability to laugh about the awful hosts! I would not recommend Bickleigh Castle unless you are willing to have countless stand-offs with Scary Sarah; I would urge her to attend a hospitallity course as she could do with learning a few things about dealing with guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BickleighCastle, Owner at Bickleigh Castle, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
In response to your review I would like to say in defence of Bickleigh Castle that we are primarily a wedding venue and in as much the Brides & Grooms who come to us take over the whole property and allocate all our accommodation to those friends and family with which they most what to share their special day. We are sorry that you were disappointed however the Bride & Groom at whose wedding you were a guest obviously wished to have your company for the entire weekend of their wedding and as such arranged for an extra bed to be placed in the room to allow this rather than recommend you to a local B&B. With regard to flies in the room, all rooms are checked thoroughly before guests arrive but due to the hot weather and the location of the Castle, being in a country area it is difficult to keep them all at bay. Once windows and doors are left open and lights on the property becomes an open invitation to the countryside wildlife. Had we been told about this problem then we would have been happy to send the housekeeper in to clean up for you. The bathroom is a relatively new addition to the cottage to allow more facilities for our guests unfortunately due to space restrictions the builder chose to encompass one of the windows into the bathroom rather than have just artificial lighting. We accept this is not ideal. The Shower was a temporary repair whilst we obtain a new rail. All the Staff at Bickleigh Castle have one aim – to ensure that all Brides & Grooms have the best wedding ever and in doing so we hope that all their guests have a fantastic time as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed for two nights for a friends wedding. Beautiful setting for a wedding (there's a moat!). We stayed in a twin room in one of the cottages - bit on the small side but others were larger. Very clean. Bathroom was shared, clean but bit of a dodgy shower - the shower curtain wouldn't stay up.
Full english breakfast both mornings with fruit and cereal - nice both times.
Great for a wedding but not sure just for regular guests. Also you either love or hate the owner.....

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We went to a wedding held at the castle, the setting is idilic, the grounds are truely beautiful. The wedding we went to was perfect. We stayed in one of the cottages for the whole weekend, the room we stayed in was cosy! A small double, but plenty big enough for what we needed. The room and shared bathroom were very clean, however it is not the standard of luxury that you would find in a hotel or country BnB. They have some absolutely amazing buildings that seem like they have renovated on the cheap, some years ago. To make this a truely beaufiful place to stay, there needs to be more attention to detail, the rooms, kitchen and bathroom are all very dated, and the tea and coffee facilities seemed like a mix match of what they could find. This could easily rectified, the whole place feels like it deserves the best.

The staff that worked throughout the weekend worked hard and seemed keen to provide a good service. When we arrived however, the lady who we assumed to be the owner did not seem very welcoming and was very abrupt in the way she checked us in. We were pointed in the vague direction to our room and told that we must move our car immediately. We felt we weren't even allowed to unload our bags.

As we were here for a wedding there was no choice other than a full english breakfast which was of an ok standard. I'm not sure what they usually do but it would have been nice to be able to choose something ourselves. There was a good selection of cereals and a fantastic fruit salad. The food for the wedding breakfast was absolutely brilliant, very well pressented and was very tasty.

The castle and grounds are the perfect location for an absolutely brilliant wedding and if you're staying here for that purpose then you can forgive the accomodations small flaws. However if you are thinking of staying for just a weekend break or holiday I believe there are nicer places to stay around the area.

Note: I will say though if you don't like bugs or spiders this is not the place for you! Obviously the owners can't do much about that!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Our stay at Bickleigh was very pleasant. We stayed in a Cottage facing the Castle which was a wonderful view to have.
The two owners are fairly eccentric but were very nice to both of us. We had a tour of the castle and we were invited over to the house on the saturday evening for drinks.
We were told this could all be done as there were no weddings there that weekend.
The breakfast was tremendous but the Jacobean chairs were a little flimsey :-)
There is a nice pub within walking of the castle as well. The only downpoint is the rooms are not ensuite

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I booked the accomodation because it was recommended in Alistair Sawday. The room was not in the Castle, the room 'shared' a bathroom, not en suite as indicated in the guide. Not only was the room cold but did not reflect anything like a castle. The room was not clean and clearly needed some attention. Compared with the shared bathroom it was fantastic. The whole accomodation was very very poor. The breakfast was good, but why do we need to eat in a room with the wine delivery?

Finally, to add insult to injury the price charged was not only wrong but the hostess tried to insist on the higher price.

I complained, in writing, but the owners are too arrogant to reply.

  • Liked — The breakfast.
  • Disliked — The quality of the rrom / bathroom.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

I booked Bickleigh Castle for my wedding in June 2007.

I have to say, not only is the site idyllic, the staff and owner went way above and beyond, to ensure that we had the most fantastic wedding weekend. The attention to detail was fantastic and they seemed to really care that every guest was enjoying themselves and had everything they needed. I would not hesitate to recommend Bickleigh Castle highly enough.

The food was fabulous, the accommodation was very clean and the owner was extremely attentive and worked incredibly hard. If you are looking for alittle slice of old england in a truly fabulous setting, then Bickleigh Castle is for you.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bickleigh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bickleigh Castle

Address: Bickleigh, Bickleigh EX16 8RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bickleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bickleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Bickleigh Castle 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bickleigh Castle Romance and History in Union.Situated on the Devon and Somerset border, in rolling countryside within its 30 acre Estate, it’s hard to believe it is just minutes away from Junction 27 and Tiverton Parkway train station.Bickleigh Castle is not only a gorgeous Devon wedding venue, it also caters for conferences and seminars and offers Bed and Breakfast accommodation throughout the year in its romantic buildings and traditional, thatched cottages.This fabulous wedding Castle also offers exclusive use for a get together with friends and family, birthday parties, private dining, anniversaries, retirement parties or reunions. Bickleigh Castle offers you the unique and magical experience of living with your guests in a 11th Century castle.Enter through the 17th Century, Italian wrought Iron Gates to discover the romantic and fascinating history that abounds in this magnificent 11th Century Castle and it's Estate, through which the River Exe also winds its way.Within the moated grounds, Bickleighs’ 6th Century Chapel stands today as it did all those years ago, probably the oldest building in the County and where, our married couples receive their blessing.This listed Grade One Castle exudes a rich and intimate atmosphere with its history echoed in its wonderful romantic heritage, regal Great Hall and elegant Tudor Bridal Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bickleigh Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bickleigh Castle Hotel Bickleigh
Bickleigh Castle Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bickleigh Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.