We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bantham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Save
You added The Sloop Inn to your Saves list
Bantham TQ7 3AJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bantham B&B and Inns
Pitstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stopped for drink and lunch with dog and very friendly with good atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    18
    15
    4
See reviews for
35
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We came down from Bristol for the weekend to stay at the sloop, the room was a good size with estuary views.
The room was clean and had tv etc.
The pub served great food on the Friday night scallops the best I've had! And fantasic crab.saturday morning had great poached eggs and bacon.
Close to beach friendly pub. Will be back.
Great sunday lunch

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Went for lunch on a Sunday.

The menu is mostly fish or beef and the roast was beef only.

My brother in law ordered a beef burger, but we then realised starred items on the menu aren't available on Sundays. Fair enough, so then he went for lasagne from the specials board, but unfortunately not available. Seems strange to leave it on the specials board when it's not available and we're the first sitting of the day. Then as he doesn't like fish, it left him with little choice but to pick sausages and chips, which came in a basket - he was not impressed.

Although we had booked and were one of the first tables in there and one of the first to order, about four or five tables got their food before us which was annoying.

My boyfriend and I had fish and chips, my fish had lots of tiny bones in, his had a few. My tartar sauce had a black hair sitting on top of it so I didn't touch it.

The in laws had the roast. The Yorkshire was quite stodgy and cold, and we had to ask for the vegetables as they hadn't arrived five mins after the roasts did.

Plus point, big portions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We didn't stay here so I can't comment on the rooms but we did have a drink one day an supper the next. For a drink it seems ok, but supper was over priced and so so slow to arrive. The bar area is traditional and welcoming however the dining area is brightly lit and rather drab to the point of being something out of fawlty towers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We walked the coastal path from Hope Cove to Bantham and had lunch and a needed bottle of wine at the Sloop. Lovely and cosy pub with great food and superb service. Dog and children friendly, really relaxed feel. It was incredibly busy at New Year but its the kind of place where you can squeeze on to a table with others and have a great time

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, hants
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

If you are looking for no nonsense bed and breakfast accommodation that provides the basics really well then this place is for you. The location is fantastc and great place to take your four-legged friend in particular. The staff are all friendly and efficient and the excellent and varied menu makes The Sloop a a great choice for a long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

First visited The Sloop [a dog friendly pub] during the New Year holiday in 2009. We were seated in the dining room at rear and side of pub which felt rather bare and uninviting however the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. [Our accommodation was at the very comfortable Owl Barn 2 miles inland from the Sloop.]

We returned to Bantham in November 2010 staying at Bantham Cottages[also very comfortable]' which are behind the Sloop. Initially staying for the weekend we had two excellent meals with good beers in the Sloop however my husband returned home and I stayed on for the week. As a female on my own, I wasn't too sure about dining alone at the Sloop however the staff welcomed me warmly with "you're still here" and ensured that I was well looked after as I sat at "my table" and read a book whilst sipping one of the superb white wines on offer [sauvignon blanc and pinot grigio]. Over the week, I indulged in delicious and well cooked meals including fish and chips, the Sloop fish pie [full of flavours], ham egg & chips [tender tasty ham] and salmon [salmon simply melted in the mouth]. The other clientele were very friendly too so never felt lonely.

July 2011 found me back at the Sloop for a lunch of fish and chips washed down with superb NZ sauvignon blanc. Again, the staff were welcoming, fellow guests chatty and the food was fantastic.

I have no hesitation in recommending the Sloop which is situated in a wonderful thatched cottage row set along a busy street when in season though quiet non season times. There is parking available at the rear of the Sloop which is fortuitous as there is no parking on the street. However, if the Sloop car park is full drive on down the street into the beach parking. There is a fee to be paid during the season - prices vary according to how long you are likely to stay and the time of day you are wanting to park.

To walk the cliff tops and to be on Bantham beach looking over to Burgh Island [one of the Poirot locations] is to be in paradise. Thoroughly recommend a walk over to Thurlestone, South Milton and Hope Cove, returning to the Sloop for superb dinner washed down by a pint or two or a bottle of wine chosen from the extensive listing.

Will be back at the Sloop New Year holiday 2011. See you there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Address: Bantham TQ7 3AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bantham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bantham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel Bantham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sloop Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.