We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't do enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Longfrie Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Longfrie Inn to your Saves list
The Longfrie Inn
Route du Longfrie, St. Pierre du Bois   |  
Hotel amenities
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“couldn't do enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

just got back from a short stay at the longfrie.Met with a nice welcome after being told over the phone our room was available in the morning(it was raining at the time) and we were in town very early.
Antony showed us to our room and even took time out to have a chat before leaving us to it.The room was lovely.Clean,fresh, with flowers,hospitality tray,toiletries,iron and hairdryer.
We ate in the hotel on 3 nights and the food was excellent. Again the staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The icing on the cake regarding our stay was when the island got fogged in and flights cancelled we rang to see if our room was still available and while waiting for a bus Antony rang me back and came out to pick us up from the airport.How many hotel owners would do that??
would we go back.......a resounding yes!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If Alex Polizzi (Hotel Inspector) wants a template of how a B & B/pub should be run she should look no further than The Longfrie Inn. We have just spent two weeks with Antony and Izzy and cannot think of anything we didn't like and two more hard-working people would be hard to find. Our room and bathroom were spotless. We had a huge bed with lovely white bedding (and lots of fresh towels in the bathroom). The bedroom was beautifully decorated with the added touch of fresh flowers which I loved. Breakfasts were delicious, cooked by Antony to order, with lots of choice. We had most of our evening meals at The Longfrie and again there was a wide choice and we enjoyed every meal we had - my husband would recommend the ale too! Adele, Hugo and Valeria (?sp) the waiting staff, as well as our chambermaid (sorry we didn't ask her name) were all great. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Longfrie Inn to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked a short stay after reading such good reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed! Were made to feel very welcome. Bed was very comfortable and room was spacious and quiet with a good sized bathroom - all nice and clean. Breakfast was excellent and Anthony(the owner) even cooked our breakfast an hour early on the day we left as we were catching an early ferry (which was very much appreciated - thankyou!). We also ate there twice in the evening and on both occasions the service & food were very good (large portions so only one course!).Might be good to book as it is very busy although they managed to get the two of us in without booking on both the evenings we ate there. The pub is in a lovely quiet area with plenty of parking & quiet lanes to walk off all that food! Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in the channel islands 3 times before, I decided to book the longfrie having seen such a good write up and I was not disappointed! I had a fantastic time there and I felt really welcome, and all the little touches make you feel home from home, I will definitely be staying again if Antony and izzy will let me come back lol

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Having checked out of my original hotel because it was hell, was lucky enough to find the Longfrie had a vacancy. The room was fantastic clean was not the word it was pristine. Lovely comfy bed with lots of cushions all nicely arranged. Fresh flowers in the room. Kettle provided to make tea, coffee, hot chocolate and even packets of biscuits. Good tv and channel selection. Could not fault the bathroom on cleaniness was spotless. Breakfast was excellent great choice and so much that you did not need to splash out on lunch a drink and toasted tea cake or slice of gauche was enough. Although we had not booked a table for the evening Antony managed to find us a table after a short wait. The food was plentiful and excellent. Service in the resturant was very good nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to Anthony and Izzy the owners who made our stay really enjoyable so friendly and very helpful. Look forward to going back again. Would definitely recomend to friends or anyone going to Guernsey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I wanted a few days away with some peace and quiet, and thats exactly what I got in this fantasticly run pub in Guernsey. The rooms were clean, neat and very comfortable. The owners do everything they can to make your stay as pleasent as possible. The food was reasonably priced and the breakfast (inc in the cost of the room) was fantastic. It is located in a great position. Close to the airport (dont worry about the noise the planes are very small) and a short car or bus trip from Peter Port. The are plenty of places to walk around the pub as well. Supurb location really.The only down side is that they close on a Sunday night and all day on a Monday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheppey, Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed three nights over a weekend for my birthday/mothers day and can only add to the positive comments left already. Anthony and Izzy were wonderfully friendly hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Room was lovely, clean and spacious, the food was tasty too - both the daily breakfasts and the evening meal we ate there on the Friday evening. You may need to book to have an evening meal there as it was packed with diners on both Friday and Saturday nights and we heard people trying to book tables as early as breakfast time. The rest of the staff are very friendly too. If we come to Guernsey again we will DEFINiTELY be staying here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Longfrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longfrie Inn

Address: Route du Longfrie, St. Pierre du Bois
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St. Pierre du Bois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pierre du Bois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Longfrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longfrie Inn Guernsey/St. Pierre Du Bois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longfrie Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.