We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Pig

The Pickled Pig
Lefebvre Street, St Peter Port GY1 2JP
+44 1481 721431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 105 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A new gastro pub has opened in the heart of St Peter Port, at the Duke of Normandie Hotel in Lefebvre Street, called The Pickled Pig. Focusing on freshness, quality and flavour, and using seasonal, locally sourced food where possible, the menu has traditional pub favourites sitting alongside such dishes as Guernsey sea bass with crab risotto, and Pork belly with black pudding bon bons and potato and bean cassoulet. Vegetarian, and gluten free, items also feature on the menu. Our new, funky bar stocks a wide range of craft beers and hand pulled real ales, along with a carefully chosen wine list, with 15 wines available by the glass.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We visited the pickled pig for lunch on a Saturday after hearing positive reviews, we were not disappointed. On arrival it was fairly busy with only one or two free small tables therefore I would recommend booking.

Food was very tasty, we'll presented and good portion size for the price.

Service was also very friendly and helpful, will be returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We were a family of 7 in this restaurant to celebrate a birthday.
The service was excellent and the food superb. The attention to detail was very good.
The staff are well trained and unobtrusive but we felt well looked after.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Needs must....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We arrived in Guernsey on a Sunday afternoon and it being 50's Britain everywhere was closed, so staying at the Duke of Normandie we decided to eat in. A very pleasant choice as it turned out. The newly refurbished restaurant could be described as posh pub grub but it was a lot better than that and we took the opportunity of eating there on two occasions both of which were excellent with a clear unpretentious but first rate menu. Ranging from home made burgers to Skate wings, Sea Bass and Pork Belly cassoulet to name but a few the choice was really very good, well cooked and well presented and ably supported by a good range wine list and friendly attentive staff.

Very enjoyable with little or no complaints.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Super yummy food + friendly & happy staff + refreshing drinks =great Friday night out. Love the new interior, feels very cozy. Fashionable.
Compliments to the chef - he did a good job making the seabass with crab risotto.
Great place for dinners (not expensive) and lunches too. Will be back!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Went here on a Recce mission to see if it would be OK for a works night out.
The look and feel of the bar is much better than it used to be so a big plus there!
I had the pig dog which was OK but nothing special and the crispy fried onions were cold. My wife had the Chicken and Bacon Panini which she enjoyed, but again pretty ordinary. Service was great, good friendly and attentive staff. The only down side for me was the extortionate prices for the drinks, £5 for a pint of lager, in Guernsey, really? £5.90 for a small glass of Savignon Blanc, really? I think calling this a Gastro Pub is a bit of a stretch but it's still better than most pubs in Guernsey.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickled Pig also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Pickled Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.