We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I certainly recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fermain Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fermain Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Fermain Valley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I certainly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Having just moved home, we decided the time was right for a relaxing holiday which involved a short flight and no driving. So we chose the Fermain Valley Hotel.

Right from the start we found there was a problem with our room because of an error by the travel company, not the hotel.

The hotel reacted very quickly to ensure our requirements were met. The room we were provided with was lovely with a nice view of the bay - please note, if booking you need to specify a coast view.

The reception and restaurant staff were extremely helpful and even provided gluten free bread etc for my wife.

It is always easy to criticise, but our experience was very positive and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Well done

Ken Gurr

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Mr Gurr,

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back on another occasion.

Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    106
    37
    13
    6
See reviews for
73
294
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This hotel was not what we expected compared with what the brochure promised. The Garden view rooms, whilst having said view, are close to the busy main road. The rooms in the main body of the hotel vary enormously in size. Our friends Gold room was a lot smaller than anticipated based on the brochure.
There is now only one restaurant, and although the food was excellent, the service was appaling. Do not expect anything in a reasonable time, that is assuming they remember what you ordered in the first place!
Contrasting this the reception staff were absolutely first class. Nothing was too much trouble. The room staff were also quite good although occassionally little things were missed such as refilling tea and coffee.
As mentioned in other reviews, one must be prepared for an early morning wake-up as the hotel sits under the flight path to the airport.
Whilst Guernsey is a beautiful island and we will almost certainly return, it is unlikely to be to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelCP, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Dear Waddeson 11,

Thankyou for your review. It is true our rooms do vary in size and aspect, though every room has identical ammenities, complimentary fresh fruit, complimentary sherry decanter, bathrobes, slippers, high quality tea making facilities, and Aveda bathroom products. Our upper garden silver rooms have road facing views, and this should have been explained at the time of booking, our literature does not say these rooms have garden views. Our website is continuously being updated, and facilities such as the dining on offer is up to date. There are, of course, some outdated brochures in circulation.

I was happy to hear you enjoyed the food, and the reception team were also excellent.

With Kind Regards

Michael Conrad-Pickles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Stayed on a 2 night package which included flights, car hire and a restaurant meal.This was excellent value for money as our room had also been upgraded to one with a sea view and balcony.
The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout with modern, airy bedrooms, comfortable guest lounges and large outdoor terraces with stunning views of the gardens and sea. It was only a ten minute walk down the hill to Fermain beach, where there is a nice cafe.
We can't fault the level of service - Gemma on reception gave us a tour of the hotel before showing us around our room. In fact, all the staff we dealt with were friendly, efficient and welcoming.
We ate in the Valley Brasserie and the food quality and presentation were excellent, with a good choice of menu together with daily specials.

Loved our stay - would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

What a joy to have discovered this Treasure so near to home! We loved everything about this hotel and just wish our 3 day stay could have been longer. Only 1/2 hr's. flight from Southampton and we felt "abroad", with the benefits of UK currency and language(sorry!). The staff were so helpful and caring, the food fantastic and the ambience of the hotel luxuriously restful without fussy pretentiousness. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

This was a very special time for us as it was our 30th wedding anniversary and from the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel very much "at home".Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff .On Reception Sarah, Nicola ,Jemma and Richard were always smiling and helpfull even at the end of thier shifts. The food was superb on every occasion and it was a joy to be greeted every morning by Babu, Mario Sabrina andCatrina and have our every want swiftly and efficiently supplied Lunch time was the same.In the evening Dinner was made an occasion with Neil ,Rachael and Daniel quickly serving our orders with just the right amount of friendly conversation The complimentary turn down service we highly recommend The gift of a complimentary Bottle of Champagne left in our room was a wonderful surpriseand was totally unexpected and just added to our enjoyment All in all a never to be forgotten experience The hotel is set in a stunning location and the views are breathtaking .We loved the tranquil gardens with lots of shady seats to take your ease ,which was needed after walking up the very steep incline from Fermain Bay (it also took your breath away) As we love walking we can recommend the Routes Tranquille shown on the free walking map we also enjoyed The Little Chapel what a labour of love to complete this little jem The bus service around the island was so good that it rendered the car positively useless
A very big thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We appreciated the transport to and from the Hotel.Delightful room which was serviced to a high standard. We enjoyed the food in the Brasserie where we found the professional Restaurant Manager and his staff to be polite and efficient. However we must say that we found the decor in the Brasserie to be rather disappointing. The dark colour scheme together with the low ceilling and stone floor made it rather oppressive, and it lacked any ambience; not quite what we expected for a four star Hotel.....we have stayed in many ! Having said that we will certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed at The Fermain Valley Hotel in July and had a very relaxing holiday in lovely surroundings. However, for a four-star hotel and the price bracket, I feel there are a couple of shortalls, some of which are admittedly beyond the Hotel's control e.g. the air craft noise, but others could be addressed quite easily.

Hotel Staff & Service - very efficient, poilite and helpful - especially Gemma and Gavin on reception desk.

Restaurant - The Palm Court restuarant closed a week before we arrived - very disappointing as this was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. However, the Brasserie offers a good and varied menu with good sized portions available at similar prices to those throughout comparable restaurants on the island. Breakfast also served here - good selection of hot & cold options.

Restaurant Staff - As highlighted by other reviewers, the service is hit & miss. Orders sometimes incorreclty taken or simply forgotten about. Some staff more amenable than others. Not as good as what you would expect in such an establishment and needs improvement.

Lounges/Library - Quiet, comfortable spacious rooms off reception, great for reading the newspapers or palying board games. Computer room with 2 computers and free internet access. Usefull diversion for children.

Pool & Sauna - Small but very clean and adequate. Compared to other 4 star hotels on the island, this hotel lacks a spa & treatment facility.

Room Service - Excellent and very thorough. Good variety and constant replenishment of teas/coffee/hot chocolate, fresh fruit & decanter of sherry. 'Aveda' toiletries also kept in plentiful supply.

The Bedroom - We stayed in a second floor Gold room with a sea view and balcony. Sea View is a 'side' view but very pleasant nonetheless. Good size balcony with 2 chairs and table. Room nicely decorated and supplied with kettle, hair dryer, iron & board, safe, TV, easy-chairs, small table and desk - a little crowded though. The room was smaller than I had expected, and the smallest I have stayed in given the star rating. The bed and bed linen was very comfortable but the bed-spread was scagged and needed replcement, and the curtains were torn and threadbare due to sun exposure. Such things are not expected in this price bracket.

Now for the biggest problem - these rooms get extremely warm and stuffy, despite the temperature during our stay only being between 19 - 23 degrees with intermittent sun/cloud. Unless you want to keep your balcony door open all day and night, the only respite is a small window. These rooms desperately need air conditioning or at the very least a ceiling fan. We found the nights uncomfortably warm and didn't sleep at all well as a result. Reception staff supplied a small (but inadequate) desk fan free of charge when we complained but this issue really needs to be addressed by management because it would prevent me staying at this hotel again. And that would be a shame.

The aeroplanes - Unbeknown to us beforehand, the Hotel is on the flight path into the airport and the planes are very low and noisy when they pass over the hotel from around 7 am in the morning. The fact we had to sleep with our door open due to the above-mentioned problem means unwelcome early morning wake up calls! The traffic ebbs and flows throughout the day and you get used to it, but it does spoil the overall peace and tranquility of an otherwise idyllic setting.

I would recommend this hotel to a frend but only if the lack of air conditioning problem is addressed and also if they didn't mind the presence of low, overhead aircraft!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fermain Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.