We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vallue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fermain Valley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fermain Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Fermain Valley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Polesworth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent vallue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is situated approximately half way between the airport and St Peter Port.
Access to the hotel is down a steep, but short road, with the Hotel's 'Venue' extension at the top of that road.
The hotel was refurbished in 2006 and the result is a high quality location for quiet holidays.
The food is excellent, with more than sufficient choice off of two menus for each sitting. If you aren't on full board, the prices are reasonable, with a two course meal available for £19 pp at the time of posting. Bar prices are equally reasonable, and it was noticeable that Guernsey locals used the restaurants and facilities, which I've always taken to be an implicit recommendation!
The platinum rooms are large, very well appointed and extremely comfortable, but lack a balcony - but the rooms more than make up for the lack! The gold rooms come with a balcony, but are smaller, although just as well appointed, as are the silver rooms, which are almost identical to the gold rooms, but lack a balcony.
All the staff were extremely efficient and friendly.
The manager was considerate and friendly, giving you the impression that nothing was too much trouble .. in fact, on one day when the hotel's shuttle bus was not available, the manager himself turned out in full chauffeurs uniform to drive myself and my partner to catch the boat to Sark for a day out!
If you are disabled or have difficulty walking, then I would recommend you ask for a room in the main building, as the walk to and from the 'Venue' extension at the top of the hill is quite steep, although it passes through a well maintained and attractive garden.
The nearest beach is a 10 minute walk down a quite steep hill, but the reward is a breathtaking, quiet little bay facing towards Herm Island, with a little beach-side cafe that serves reasonable food. A cliff-top path leads from the bay into St Peter Port (about a 40 minute walk), through one of the local attractions, Bluebell Wood.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a platinum room with sea view. Worth the extra cost. Gold rooms come with a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Tony D
Thank you for your most welcome review it was a joy to read, I do try to see all our guests during their stay and you are right nothing is too much trouble when you live on Guernsey, I have quite a wardrobe of uniforms! All my staff love their jobs and this ensures that all our guests are well cared for in an efficiently and friendly manner.
When you are planning your next trip to Guernsey, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and I will be delighted to make your booking at the Fermain Valley Hotel in our best room with a balcony.

Yours sincerely,
Robert Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    97
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
65
272
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Everything was done to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The extra bathroom facilities for disabled guests made our stay easy, and the swimming pool was a bonus. The decor throughout the public areas is very tasteful. We would certainly like to return, maybe for our golden-wedding anniversary next June. Thank you to all the staff. Pat and John Goodhall.

Room Tip: For disabled guests room 24 has easy access via a lift to reception, and there are about 6 steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Goodhall,
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at the Fermain Valley Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the décor to your liking and our team were able to make your stay so comfortable and enjoyable.
Please let me know if I can assist in booking your trip for your wedding anniversary next June, It would be great to celebrate the Golden wedding here on Guernsey
I will be sharing your great review with all of our team to thank them for their dedication and enthusiasm that made your stay so enjoyable and memorable.
Yours sincerely,
Robert Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Fermain Valley for one night last weekend. It is certainly a very beautiful and well appointed hotel, although we both thought our rooms were very pricey in view of their location. We stayed at the Venue and we were disappointed that our rooms overlooked the road and were directly above the cinema with a pub opposite. The film being shown last Saturday was "Star Wars", which is a long and noisy film. The film was apparently late starting and was still going at about 11.00 p.m. Neither of us was able to sleep and my friend, who was in the noisier of the two rooms had to contact reception three times before he was able to move rooms. It was just fortunate that there was a spare room available. Incidently, we heard no noise from the pub at all!

Room Tip: Don't book a room in the Venue if it is directly above the cinema.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Christopher J
It was a great pleasure to read your post on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us. We are very proud of the Fermain Valley Hotel from its picturesque location, it’s beautiful interiors, characterful rooms, delicious meals and unobtrusive, yet attentive service ensure that our guests’ stay is memorable and wonderful.
If you are coming back to Guernsey, please give me a call on 01481 235666 when you are making the booking and I shall endeavour to assist in room selection.
Best regards,

Robert Steen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were returning to Guernsey for the first time since our honeymoon there. Having decided to 'push the boat out' a little for this special occassion, we chose the Fermain Valley Hotel. We have just got back from the most amazing week there. Comfortable, clean, relaxed - the superlatives just go on! Chocolates, sherry and fruit in the room every day, and the most wonderful, friendly staff I have ever had the pleasure to come across.

Room Tip: We had a Gold balcony room, overlooking the bay - just as in all the photos! We really didn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear SKIWanders
How fantastic that you spent your Honeymoon on Guernsey and a return to Fermain Valley was really enjoyed and full of superlatives! I am very proud of my staff here and will pass on your comments to them When the sun is shining, drinking a glass of champagne on your bedroom balcony looking down the valley cannot be topped! Do come again and enjoy another holiday with us
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked this as a short 3 night stay for our 1st time to Guernsey, within a day we were both wishing we had booked for longer. Fermain Valley is ideally situated, especially if you love walking. The steep hill to the Bay at the bottom is easily walked if you take the less steep path through the gardens. Just a 10 minute drive to St Peters Port and with a bus stop outside means getting around the island is a breeze. The staff are friendly, rooms clean and food very moreish. With all the site seeing we did not get chance to try out the pool, but it did look inviting....maybe next time. We fully recommend the Fermain Valley Hotel, especially if you want to relax in comfort.
W. Taylor

Room Tip: If possible upgrade to a room with a balcony, well worth the view out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Winkgirl,
Yes I agree 3 nights is not enough! The bluebells in the wood around the corner look fantastic now and we are heading into summer when the walks are so enjoyable. Site seeing by bus is a great way to get around but try to leave enough room for a swim next time I read with delight that you found the staff friendly, rooms spotless and the food moreish ( not the Spanish type!) Do come back and see us soon, Guernsey is an every changing blanket of flora
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands, U.K.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff could not do enough for our party from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
The location and view are both stunning as too is the complimentary sherry decanter & well presented in a spotless room, beds are so comfortable too!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Keithand Becki
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your getaway and that my staff were all helpful. I receive many good comments about the sherry and our comfortable beds, let me know when I can book a room for your return trip
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, Cheshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Travelled to Guernsey for a few days break. Hotel exceeded expectations in everything - cleanliness, accommodation, food and staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the new addition of the Rock Garden puts this hotel a cut above the rest. A courtesy bus into St Peter Port was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Go for Gold but Silver also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at Fermain Valley Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Suzanne H
I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of the hotel and that we exceeded expectations Our rock garden is a great addition to the hotel and our bus is a very well used extra come back and see us again soon,
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fermain Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.